//Is being a workaholic healthy??//

Now, we all know that governments around the world are making their education systems tougher and more and more exam-based. One of the obvious impacts of this which is often picked up by the media is the rise in anxiety and stress due to the increasing pressure young people are under from an increasingly young age. Today, whilst sat in my room surrounded by revision timetables, textbooks and notes which I am still currently trying to sort out and file away ready for next year’s exams, I became aware of another impact this may have on youngsters like me that people don’t often think about. 

I’ll refer to it as “workaholism”, because I can’t think of an easier way to describe it and since it’s something that a lot of people tend to overlook or pass off as being “lucky” because workaholics are studious and have the drive to work hard.

I’ve always been a hard worker, done all my homework and schoolwork to the best of my ability, because my parents brought me up to be polite and follow the rules and at school the rules were to do the work we were set, so I did. When it came to year 6 SATs, I worked hard like everyone else and got average grades which I was happy with. Thinking back it was only really when I started secondary school that I started to stand out – and be bullied for – working hard. For example, I’d put tonnes of effort into homework projects and my teachers would sometimes make an example of me or display my work in the classroom because they were so pleased with it, or later on nearing GCSEs, we would have French vocab tests every lesson and no one would bother to revise so no one would score above 50%, but then I’d be getting nearly all the questions right because I spent ages learning the vocab for the test. In the end, I pretended I didn’t know the answers because I was so embarrassed to stick out from the class and be picked on because I actually did the work that was expected of me. 

Revising for GCSEs wasn’t a problem for me. I meanNow, we all know that governments around the world are making their education systems tougher and more and more exam-based. One of the obvious impacts of this which is often picked up by the media is the rise in anxiety and stress due to the increasing pressure young people are under from an increasingly young age. Today, whilst sat in my room surrounded by revision timetables, textbooks and notes which I am still currently trying to sort out and file away ready for next year’s exams, I became aware of another impact this may have on youngsters like me that people don’t often think about. 

What’s often referred to in a trivial sense as being a “workaholic” – someone who is very studious and works hard – is usually regarded as being a positive asset and something that people desire to be, for example “oh I wish I could be like you and work hard all the time”. However, for some people like me it can become a real problem.

I only realised today that I am possibly a workaholic, whilst on my bedroom floor trying to sort out my revision timetable for next year and rewriting some of this year’s revision notes – all of which I do not need to be doing until at least 6 months time and certainly not during my summer holidays – but looking back I think the signs have been there all along. During my year6 SATs I worked hard like everyone else and got average grades which I was pleased with,but once I got to secondary school I started to notice myself standing out and being bullied for apparently exceeding the average working standard of my fellow students, even though in reality what I was doing was the work set for me to the best of my ability as that’s how my parents had brought me up. Nearing GCSEs, I began to be embarrassed about getting high results in tests and being singled out because of it, so much so that in end of unit science tests or French vocab tests, I purposely wrote wrong answers because even though I’d done the revision and knew the answers,  I desperately wanted to fit in and be like everyone else. In my real GCSE exams, I worked extremely hard but it wasn’t difficult to motivate myself. I mean, obviously I procrastinated occasionally like everyone but knew that I wanted to get good grades on these exams and I knew what I had to do to get them, so I did it. The trap with being a workaholic though is that no matter how much you work, you always need to do more, achieve more. I remember when I got my GCSE results and found out I was top in my school, I didn’t really feel anything. People around me were crying with happiness, I’m not sure if I was just too shocked to react or whether my brain had alreadyoved on to thinking about the next challenge – A Levels. I’d done GCSEs, they were hard but I knew I had to work harder for A Levels and i couldn’t help but allow myself to feel that GCSEs were a bit insignificant compared to what I would have to face next. 

I think at college, my relationship with work has become worse. Throughout the past acedemics year, I’ve had an obsession with rewriting my notes on to index cards after every single lesson, revising “on the go” as it were. And when it came to the revision period itself, I found myself flitting from one method to the other because none of them were giving me the sense of fulfillment that I was learning and remembering enough fast enough, because having the mindset of a workaholic is all about being efficient – learning as much as you can in the shortest time possible, in order to go on to learn more. It’s anevening ending cycle in which I found myself never having time to relax. 

There’s so much emphasis on independent work, and for someone who feels like they always need to do everything they can to meet and exceed their teacher’s expectations, everything we were pointed in the direction of resources or advised to look at things “if we had time”, any spare time I’d have for relaxing would turn into “I NEED TO READ THESE FIVE ARTICLES AND WRITE SUMMARIES” as if it was a life or death matter. 

I often find myself telling people that I love studying and for me it’s not a chore, which is true because I know I will always do it because if I don’t my mind will go into an uncontrollable spiral of “I’m going to fail at everything”.

Even now that it’s the summer holidays, I just want to go back to college and carry on learning. I’ve set myself a huge to-do list of work for the summer and keep telling myself off for being “lazy” for having an unproductive day.

I think a lot of also stems from other people’s actions towards me – not that I can blame my problems on other people but some things people have said have certainly had an effect. For example “oh why are you worrying about exams, you always get As” or “you don’t understand, you’ve never failed anything” or “I wish I couldn’t have to revise and still get straight As like you do” etc. For me, no matter how much work I do it never feels like enough, I always get that “could have done more” feeling after exams and don’t understand how I get the grades I do because my mind doesn’t believe I’ve worked hard enough. I get so frustrated – why do I deserve these grades when my friends around me work just as hard, and if not harder? Some people say to me, “I wish I could get high grades for once” and honestly, I wish I could turn the tables and give them my grades because I’m fed up of never feeling satisfied with the amount of work I put in and not understanding what my friends are going through when they have to retake exams and face not making it to year 13. 

This year has been an eye opening year in many ways, and my workaholic tendancies are just another thing I’ve discovered about myself during year 12. It just makes me wonder how many other young people out there can relate to my experiences, because the emphasis of exam-based education is affection everyone in different ways. I hope reading my story has been helpful in some way, and feel free to share yours below. Now I’ve identified these tendancies in myself, I can start to work my way around it and overcome this before it becomes an even bigger barrier to my mental health and education.

Thank you for reading 🙂

Author: Em is Lost

I'm a teenage blogger who loves adventure and the great outdoors. I enjoy blogging about a range of topics including scouting, politics, feminism, world affairs and the life of a teenager in general. I am currently studying A Levels in the UK and like to practice my French through blogging as I hope to become fluent one day.

17 thoughts on “//Is being a workaholic healthy??//”

  1. Wow, this was really interesting to read and was well written. I’m a lot like you, and I know how much stress it can be. Great post, and good luck next year!
    xx
    Em (the other one 🙂 )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Em! I think a lot of us young people face so much stress, but because everyone goes through it we don’t feel it’s significant enough to talk about but I feel so much better after letting my thoughts out. Thank you very much and same to you Em!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This was really interesting – I wouldn’t say I’m a workaholic as such but I definitely put a lot of pressure on myself when it comes to exams and I also get that “could have done more” feeling, even though realistically I did everything humanely possible. I also hate that phrase you mentioned when people say “oh you’ll be fine you get good grades” – it’s as if they think you don’t put any effort in when in reality you’ve had to do just as much as them, if not more, to achieve it. I hope your exams went well overall and fingers crossed for August 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I like the term you coined – workaholism. Like you, I was brought up to do any work set for me to the best of my ability, and as I enjoyed studying I never gave my jam-packed work schedule a second thought. (I spent every lunchtime throughout my A-Levels in either the Art or Textiles department working on coursework, and never once thought I was overworking myself, when in reality I probably was.) I became, for want of a better word, addicted to getting high grades – and while some friends, like yours, thought I was getting them with minimal effort, it was far from the case! I think these tendencies have transferred into my working life, as I put a lot of pressure on myself when planning lessons and marking work. As you say, it’s important to establish a good work-life balance, so that you don’t lose sight of other important aspects of your life 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I definitely think it’s easy to overlook over working yourself as just working hard and being dedicated and it’s partly to the fault of our education system that we’re in a position where we feel as if we have to work as hard as we possibly can. It’s hard when other people don’t understand, but I think a lot more people are probably going through the same thing as us than I thought. I hope as I grew up I’ll be able to learn to better manage my work and life, but it is a bit of a worry going to uni as I worry I’ll be so absorbed in studying I’ll forget to look after myself!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Em I relate to this so so so much. I’m a workaholic too, but not just when it comes to school – to blogging and writing and all the other goals I’ve set myself too. And it’s super stressful and nervewrecking and just not good. Even now, when I still have plenty of time left, I’m kind of freaking out about everything I want and need to do this Summer before school starts and I really, really hate how society has turned us into this :/ It’s really not healthy. I do hope you’re also getting plenty of rest and having fun too! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. :(( I feel you, I’m already panicking about starting college again in September be wise the workload just seems so huge. Also the stress of applying to uni arghh. But hopefully we can both relax a bit over the summer and make the most of the break 💕

      Liked by 1 person

  5. OH MAN. I relate to this a LOT. I think for a long time people have viewed me as an “academic person” because I get good grades and do well in my lessons, even though I don’t feel extremely clever or like I work super hard for it? I just. I can’t go into a test without feeling like I’ve tried to revise as best as possible, and I often focus more on my mistakes than what I do well. I don’t want to complain that I get good grades but also, it is kind of frustrating & stressful when people do say ‘you’ll do fine, you’re clever’ or whatever because then my brain goes WHAT IF I DON’T DO WELL, THEN I HAVE NO VALUE AS A PERSON which is :/
    I also feel bad when I don’t like do productive stuff all the time but I am working on it I guess? And I think that’s all we can do. (Except also the school system’s focus on exam results sucks but :))) )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I get you! I don’t feel like I work any harder than others or am any smarter so I think as you say there’s always that thought that if we don’t do ‘well’, then we’ll lose our value. Sort of like the fact that we get good grades has become part of our personality and people can’t see past that. I think you’re right – we just have to make sure that we give ourselves breaks to take care of ourselves every now and then, and not just study hard all the time, however tempting it may be! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

