//Exeter Uni open day; thoughts//

Hi guys! As you may know from my countless posts rambling on about the woes of A Levels, I am currently a Year 12 students, which means that next September I will be (hopefully!) heading off to uni. As I have to apply to universities by Januray, this summer I’ll be travelling aorund the UK to look at different unis and see what they can offer me.

You may have read my rambles a while ago about me not knowing what I wanted to actually study at uni. Until a few months ago, I had my heart set on studying history and geography, but a couple of days after going to a UCAS event and speaker to some current students and uni respresentitives, I realsied that my heart wasn’t really in it. I was never really able to picture myself studying history and geography – I just had this vague wishy-washy image of myself at uni, put it was as if it would never come in to focus. Perhaps that’s because everything was put into sharp persepective and whilst I thought I was loving history and geography at A Level, I realised that I’m the sort of person who can put up with studying just about anything, because I’ll work hard at everything I do even if deep down I hate it. Hence, I discovered that my actual passion and (almost) life-long passion has been, and still is, languages. Therefore I’m know heading off down a different path, turning a different corner and opening a different set of doors.

As well as knowing I wated to carry on with my language-learning at degree level, I realised that ever since I did Government and Politics AS Level last year, my love for everything political has been growing. Alongside the imaginative, curious and creative side of my brain, I also have a really logical, analytical mind which wants to know all the intricate little details about how everything works and came to be, hence I loved the insisght into the working of govenrment and political systems that the AS Level granted me, much the same way as I find French grammar – the inner workings of the language – truly fascinating. Therefore, I hope to embark on – what I’m sure will be  – the enthralling journey of a Politics and French combined honours degree.


So today, I woke up at 7:30 am to drive down to Exeter for their university open day. Exeter is the first uni I’ll be looking at this year, and it definitely did not disappoint! I feel as if now the whole university process is beginning, I have been thrust into a whirlwind of adreniline and excitement as the next daunting chapter of my life begins to unfold.

Once we’d arrived on campus after taking the park and ride service the university had put on, we started our day with a tour of the accommodation. I have to say, I am rerally impressed. Having visted various other unis two years ago when my sister was in the same position I am in now, I have seen my fair share of good and bad accommodation. But, I found Exeter’s to be really nice and spacious, and in a prime location on campus (even if I would have to walk up a hill to get to my language lectures).

After that, we headed back up the hill (where I bumped into a friend from my geography class, then shortly after my friend from history who seemed really surprised yet happy to see me there and welcomed me with a hug) and commenced a campus tour. The student ambassador who was leading the tour was really friendly and helpful, and I had a few conversations with her as we were going around which was really useful to see things from a current students prospective. In fact, all of the student ambassadors who I encountered during the day were so freidnly and helpful, and really made the day! The campus itself is beautiful – there are so many green spaces, tress, wildlife, plants – not to mention the views over Exeter and the countryside! I also loved how the campus had a contrast between older buildings and more modern spaces, which really helped it to come together and give it more of a community feel.

Aother thing thart I really liked about the open day was the acedemic fair, which we attended after having some lunch. You could basically go around to different stalls and talk to students and faculty members for the subjects you’re interested in, as well as pick up handy booklets which broke down all the modulkes and gave you all the information you need for each degree. Again everyone was really friendly and it was a great opportunity to ask questions.

The final part of the day was based on attending subject presentations, which lasted around 45 minutes. They had subject presentations at different times throughout the day, but when I booked my ticket they only had available slots in the afternoon, and I had to pick particular times so they didn’t class as I wanted to attend both the modern languages presentation and the politics and international relations presentation. All of the staff did a really good job of explaining their course structure etc and they were clearly passionate about their subjects, which I found really encouraging. Both subject talks I went to really made me fall in love with the courses, and helped me confirm that I was making the right decision about what I wanted to do. What I loved about both courses was the fact that you have a lot of flexibility over which modules you take, and with both there is the possibility to explore a wide range of topics within the subjects themselves. Also, the variety of wayts in which the subjects are examined. Instead of just doing exam papers, you can do oral discussions, group presentations, coursework, role plays – even writing draft policies and writing texts to advise world politicians (well, not actually but you get what I mean…hopefully). Especially with the French side of the degree, the university appears to have a wealth of foreign language resources, and the prospect of spending a year in a French speaking country studying, working or teaching sounds so exciting!

Overall, I had a really enjoyable time, and Exeter uni has definitely made an impression on me! However I want to try to keep an open mind when I visit other unis over the next few months and try to form an impression of them in their own right, but I thought it would be a good idea to write down my thoughts on each uni on here so I can read back on these posts when it comes to choosing which uni to put as my firm and insurance choices.

Are you agoing to any uni open days? Or starting university soon like me? Let me know below. πŸ™‚

Author: Em is Lost

I'm a teenage blogger who loves adventure and the great outdoors. I enjoy blogging about a range of topics including scouting, politics, feminism, world affairs and the life of a teenager in general.

35 thoughts on “//Exeter Uni open day; thoughts//”

      1. I’m in year 9 now, a bit further away from my naive year 7 days! I really hope it does fly by, uni and sixth form is really where education seems to become more of something to look forward to, you get more of a choice! Can’t waitπŸ˜„πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Yeah, sixth form is great, I’m loving it! At college everyone treats you more like adults and everyone is really friendly it’s great, there’s no “popular” people, everyone is equal 😊

          Like

  1. Exeter is an amazing uni! One of my family members graduated from their last year and got a great degree. It’s also 35th in the world in research and also one of the best unis in the world and in the top 10 of the UKs best. Sorry for being so nerdy and advert like πŸ˜‚ but it’s awesome that you considered it. Another uni you might wanna consider as well is Warwick which is also awesome, but this is all in your opinions and decisions. Just hope I helped in some way! 😊❀️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oooh cool! Yes it definitely has a very good reputation nationally and internationally. Thank you, I’ll have a look a Warwick, now I’ve figured out exactly what course I want to do it’ll be much easier to compare different unis 😊 x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s brilliant! I’m glad Exeter was a good experience for you. A few of my friends went too!
    I’m going to Imperial, Warwick and *insert a couple others here because i need to check my calendar* once my exams are over! I wanted to check out Kings but I’ll have to leave that for September because I have Mechanics the following week.

    Exciting stuff!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Ooh cool, hope you enjoy them. Ahh I know the struggle, I actually spent the whole weekend without revising due to going to Exeter on Sunday and picking my sister up from uni yesterday, although I have three exams tomorrow so probs wasn’t the best idea!! Good luck with your remaining exams.

      Like

  3. I’ve just registered to look round Northumbria University on their open day. It’s kind of the only one that’s appealing to me at the minute but I’m so excited. Sounds like you had a lovely day 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh NO, I need to start getting my life together with open days – I’m going to see Birmingham on the 23rd and MAYBE Warwick on the 24th. I’m also seeing UEA on 8 July πŸ™‚ Exeter sounds so lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. i wish our school/college offered politics or government ! i’ll have to apply to unis by january too and i’m clueless about what i wanna do lol. visiting unis isn’t really an option for me. exeter sounds pretty good! i’m glad you found a uni you like. good luck.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww no! What subjects do you do at the moment if you don’t mind me asking? Visiting unis is useful, but if you can’t then you can find loads of info on uni websites – which uni or what uni are good search engines which will show you all the unis that offer a whatever course you search for. Also if you Google the name of a uni followed by “virtual open day” many unis will provide a “virtual” tour of the campus online using imagery software so you can get a feel for the place. Thank you and good luck to you too!

      Like

  6. I’m Singaporean, so I don’t have the experience of going to open days in English schools! That said, I applied to Cambridge and got rejected, haha. But I still remember the rush of applying to unis and trying to find out where you want to go…. It was just a year ago for me! The experiences you write about resonate with me, I guess, because in a way it reminds me of where I am with life ^^

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, I don’t even have the courage to apply to Cambridge so well done you for trying! Glad you could relate to my post, and your right it does feel like such a rush and I’ve definitely got a busy year ahead of me!

      Like

  7. Aah yay, I’m so excited for you! It’s so cool to hear about other people’s uni experiences — although of course I do have some time to go yet, I don’t have much of an idea myself of what I want to do haha. Politics and a modern language sounds really cool to me actually. *nods* And it sounds like you had a good time at the open day, hurrah! Spending a year in France sounds SO COOL. To be honest I JUST REALLY WANT TO GO LIVE SOMEWHERE ELSE AT SOME POINT. Just to let you know I think there are a couple of typos in the second paragraph like in months and history?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, that’s cool! I’m actually hyped to get all ~political~ with people who don’t think it’s boring and who don’t just spout the views of what they read in the media. Yes it was a really great open day! YESS SAME there’s so much of the world to explore! Oh thank you I’ll go check!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Oooh nice! Exeter is lovely! I like Bristol too, but I live near Bristol so I want to go a bit further a field for uni, although I’ll probably still end up applying just to fill in the five slots on the UCAS applications

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

