//Français – mon amour!//

IMG_20170526_140830
A French magazine I was given after going to a French conference in January (where I jhad to give a weather report in French in front of a group of strangers and direct and film a mini video in French)

Hello! Welcome back, sorry it’s been such a long time since I last posted on here, I’ve been terribly busy with revision for my exams (which are 10 days away eek!) but somehow I managed to find a bit of time today to sit down and write about my growing love of French.

I’ve been studying French since I was in year 5 – so since I was about 9/10. I mean, that 7-ish years of learning French sounds like such a long time (and I’m still not fluent haha) – it’s weird to think French has been part of my life for THAT long!

When I first started learning, I never imagined I’d fall in love with the language – or languages in general – but here I am, studying A Level French and falling helplessly inlove with the French language and culture.

IMG_20170526_140407
Throwback to when my French grammar was shocking (and fastforward to my awful photography skills).

In primary school, and the first two years of secondary school, French was compulsory for me, and as someone who always works hard, I put in just as much effort into French as my other subjects. So, whilst most of my friends and classmates weren’t enjoying the French lessons (I don’t get why so many don’t like learning languages??) I was loving them so much I chose to do French for my GCSEs.

I think by about year 10, when I was starting to think about what I wanted to do after school for my A Levels, I started to realise that I really wanted to carry on with French for as long as possible. My French teachers at secondary school were really supportive and encouraged me to do French A Level as well, so that’s what I did, and here I am now!

IMG_20170526_140638
My A Level text book.
IMG_20170526_140011
My A Level revision scrapbook that I’m actually quite proud of!

Honestly, I think doing French A Level as been the best decision I’ve ever made. Yes, it’s probably my hardest subject, but it’s also the most interesting by far! Luckily, the teachering at my college is just as good – if not better -than that at my secondary school, and my current teacher is alkso really supportive. I also love being in a small class – there’s just six of us – of people that are dedicated to learning French, and don’t judge you for liking languages, like some people did at secondary school.

Also, the A Level course is so interesting! I’m doing the new A Levels, so the expectations are higher than the older specifications, as we’re required to have an exstensive knowledge of French and Francophone culture on a range of topics, but I honestly love it so much. Learning about the French culture has made me love the language even more, as I quickly realised that a language only makes up a small part of a countries culture, and there is so much else to learn.

I also love how when I speak French, I feel like I have a much wider understanding of the world – or at least another part of it. There’s also a sense of pride for defying the stereotype that British people are “lazy and don’t learn languages”.

I have improved so much over the last year, and have gone from someone who would quite happily read and write in French, but couldn’t speak more than a badly-pronounced sentence, to someone who now can understand being taught each lesson in French by my teacher, repsond to her questions, understand French films and books, read French magazines and have a lengthy conversation with other people in French. Also, my pronounciation is really improving too!

The only thing my love of French is missing, is actually having visted France. The only time I (briefly) went to France was when I went to Austria back in 2011 and got the channel ferry from Dover to Calais. But then we only stayed in the ferry terminal for an hour or so at Calais so not really proper France. BUT I am venturing to Marseille at the beginning of July with my A Level French class, and I’m so excited! I can;t ait to experience the culture first hand and practice my speaking skills (hopefully I’ll be confident enough)!

So that just about brings us up-to-date with my French journey. However I will hopefully be posting a fashion-type post over the next week or so (which is new for me so I don’t know how that will go) as due to the hotness of being in the South of France on the French Riveria, I need to go out and buy some summery, lightweight clothing. So look out for that and until then, au revoir!

IMG_20170526_140710
A canvas I painted reading “La Vie”
Author: Em is Lost

I'm a teenage blogger who loves adventure and the great outdoors. I enjoy blogging about a range of topics including scouting, politics, feminism, world affairs and the life of a teenager in general.

30 thoughts on “//Français – mon amour!//”

  1. I love this! I don’t do a language but I did French for two years in primary and Spanish for 3 years during intermediate and the beginning of high school. I don’t remember much of either of te languages though :/
    I do wish I spoke another language but they never stick as I’m not able to apply them to everyday situations
    – Yasmin

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oooh that’s cool, Spanish seems like such a beautiful language! I know what you mean you have to practice constantly and if you’re not in the country of your target language, it can be a bit hard to fit practice in. I spend a lot of time talking to myself in fee or just narrating what’s going on 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Your post is so wonderful to read! I have also fallen for the French language, and I am currently studying it at university (alongside History) and it’s the best decision I have ever made! If you need any help or someone to fangirl about French about (hehe) just let me know!! – A x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s so nice to hear they’ve changed the syllabus to include more cultural material. I remember when I did AS & A-Level French a few years ago, all we did was study one film (La Haine) and one book (Bonjour Tristesse) at A2; any other films we saw were just for fun on the side, rather than part of the curriculum. I always found it frustrating that we spent so much time studying things like cyber security and nuclear energy, and relatively little time on cultural topics. Luckily, when I studied French at university I got a decent dose of cultural studies – everything from literature and film to graphic novels/ BD and music 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah! We’re actually studying La Haine at the moment, and next year we’ll be doing Un Sac de Billes but the other modules we study include le cinéma, le patrimoine et la musique – which obviously involves a lot of culture. I’m looking forward to doing French politics next year as well. That’s good! I’m thinking about doing French and Politics at uni 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I loved that film – funnily enough, it cropped up on a film module I took at university too! I only recently read Un Sac de Billes, and I really enjoyed it – I also found it’s a fairly easy book to follow, which is always good as it takes extra effort to read in a second language. I wish the AS/ A2 course was that diverse when I took it – there’s so much more to learning a language than grammar and vocab, and I think until now the course, in a way, failed to address that. That would be a really interesting combination – good luck for applications and your upcoming exams!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Yes, it is a really good film! That’s good to know, I like the challenge of reading French books, but it does take a lot longer than English books. Yes, I’m really satisfied with the course so far, it’s far more interesting than GCSE. Thank you very much 😊

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

