//Where have I been recently? All over the place apparently!//

A while ago I said I wanted to do more adventuring over the next few months and spend more time outdoors. I’m glad to say since writing this post in February, I have actually achieved this and managed to do a lot of exploring over the past few months. Spending time outdoors is such a great way to relax during exam season, so I thought I’d share with you where I’ve been and what I’ve been up to lately.

Right, it’s going to be hard to remember everywhere I’ve been and it what order, but I shall try my best!

I think the first adventure I had was going to Portsmouth by train to visit my sister at uni. I had to get up at 6:30 to get the train at 7:30, and the journey was nearly 4 hours in total. I was travelling with my mum so it wasn’t really bad but still long legs + train seating = achey legs + awkward kicking of strangers feet under the table!!

When we got there we met my sister then went to a nearby supermarket to buy dinner (ended up going to a different supermarket afterwards because we couldn’t find what we wanted πŸ˜‚) then took the food back to her flat and sat in her room chatting for a bit. It was really nice to be back in her room because the last time I was there was the day we dropped her off in September, and that was stressful and sad so we couldn’t really enjoy it as much. But this time it was great to be back at her uni and see her enjoying herself. 

(Look at me loving the University of Portsmouth snapchat geo tags πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚)

We also went to Costa for a drink as you do, before heading off to the Museum of Portsmouth which was actually really good – it had a whole Sherlock Holmes exhibition because fun fact: the character Sherlock was born in Portsmouth πŸ˜‰ It also had a a retro games room where you could play old video games which is fun! Plus the building itself was pretty nice-looking and we ate lunch sat in the gardens.

The museum of Portsmouth

After visiting the museum, we walked around the high street and visited Primark to do some shopping (bc why not??). 

Portsmouth Guildhall
I always forget what this building is called, but it’s v pretty!

Then we went back to the flat to have dinner and said our good-byes at the train station at about 5:30-ish. It was a really lovely day, although due to the length of time we spent travelling, we didn’t actually spend much time in Portsmouth. But the good thing about travelling by train is seeing the countryside as you go through different stations – going through Bath Spa station was really nice as it’s right in the heart of the city and I’d never actually been to Bath before, also we could see Southampton port from the train which was quite cool!

Departure board at Portsmouth & Southsea station

The next adventure I went on was to Bristol with my friends to go shopping in Primark (apparently Bristol has the UK’s biggest Primark!?? I’m not entirely sure but it certainly is huge with four floors and loads of escalators (yayy)). Then two days after that – Friday 31st March – I went back to Portsmouth again!

This time we went in the car as we had to pick my sister up from uni for Easter break. The journey was just under 3 hours but I had so much homework I had to take my geography maths homework with me and spent the journey trying to do student t-tests by hand (each part of the question took like half an hour arghh).

Once we’d picked my sister up and put her stuff from her flat in the car, we drove to the historic dockyard in Portsmouth as my dad had managed to get a really good deal on annual tickets. When went on a boat tour around the dockyard, Portsmouth harbour in general and Gunwharf Quays which is a fancy shopping centre where the famous Spinnaker tower is located. It was quite nice even though I’m not the biggest fan of boats! We also went on board the HMS Warrior and went round various exhibitions which were very interesting.

*glares at police boat that sped across the harbour with it’s sirens blaring creating waves that made our boat bob up and down loads like a rollercoaster*

HMS Victory from the tour boat

This is where it gets a bit confusing – basically, I went to four cities in the space of a week, including this trip to Portsmouth. The Tuesday after this, I went to Bath for a UCAS convention with college which was very useful although my shoulders were aching from carrying round all the prospectuses! Before we left for Bath, I had a free lesson so decided to embark on the 20 mins walk to the beach near my college, although I only stated there for about 10 mins as there was a dog chasing me/barking at me and I’m still getting over my fear of dogs so decided to head back, but the views were still nice! 

Remember this hill, it will be important for future reference!!

Then the day after that, Wednesday, I went back to Bristol with my sister to Primark again as the previous week I hadn’t bought anything but had seen various things I liked and my sister needed clothes too so we went back together.

Then the next day, I went to Cardiff on a geography field trip. The trip was honestly great – firstly we actually managed to collect all the data for the trip in the time frame allowed, the weather was really sunny and hot, we had an hour for lunch (in which my friend bought us all fab lollies, me and another friend got offered a boat trip by a man with a loud hailer, we attempted to take selfies and we saw armed police men patrolling the bay which was NOT worrying at all) and we got a tour of the Senedd which is the Welsh assembly building. Ooh we also saw the BBC Cardiff studios where Doctor Who is filmed and walked right past the Doctor Who Experience on our way to the barrage. The only bad thing was it was soo sunny pretty much everyone got sunburnt as it wasn’t sunny at home so we didn’t think to put sun cream on. My nose and forehead got really badly burnt and it’s still painful now over a week later!

Cardiff Bay
That long building in the distance is the BBC Wales studios
We had to take photos of certain things as part of the field work, so i took this one of the barrage because we had to, but I didn’t realise the massive Olympic rings on the floor until just now πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

So that week was very busy for me, as well as being the last week of term! Then last weekend the weather was really hot and sunny – I wore shorts and t-shirt pretty much the whole weekend! On the Saturday, I went to the beach nearest where I live for a morning walk then on the Sunday I went on a 7 miles hike with my mum through the countryside.

Then throughout the week I’ve been going out on my bike a lot around the local area and countryside which has been great!

And finally to conclude such a long post, I went to that hill on Saturday, which involved climbing over 100 very steep steps and walking up a steep hill to the WW1 fort at the end. The views from the top were great, as I could so the beach which is near my college, but also a lot further down the coast and even Wales!

So I think it’s safe to say I’ve managed to get out and about a lot more the past few months! Have you been on any adventures recently?

Author: Em is Lost

I'm a teenage blogger who loves adventure and the great outdoors. I enjoy blogging about a range of topics including scouting, politics, feminism, world affairs and the life of a teenager in general.

9 thoughts on “//Where have I been recently? All over the place apparently!//”

  1. All that travelling sounds awesome, I love being busy with travelling and events if that makes sense, I find it all so fun! I really need to travel more often, just like you, but being younger has its limitsπŸ˜”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

