//My plan (or lack of) for the future//

Arghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

^ Basically how I feel right now when it comes to think about the future πŸ˜‚

But on a more serious note, I feel like I need to have a bit of a ramble about my indecision over what to do in the future and more specifically at uni. For a while now I’ve had my mind set on studying geography and history joint honours at university, because I enjoy both of these subjects so it seemed sensible to carry on with my academic journey down that route. So naturally I had been doing my research and had narrowed it down to five university that do that degree and we’re located in areas I’d be happy to live in, booked open days to go and visit them in the summer and was content with the fact that for once in my life I’d actually managed to make a decision. On Tuesday, the college took us to a UCAS convention at a local-ish uni (I say local but it took like an hour and a half to get there…in a coach that had a hornet/giant wasp thing buzzing around…FUN) where there were representatives from nearly 200 university from around the UK for us to talk to about the degrees they offered. As I’d already been researching universities beforehand, I knew (or thought I did) what degree I was interested in and knew what universities I was considering, so headed straight over to those and found out more info about their geography and history joint degrees, picked up a prospectus and various freebies and then went off with my friends whilst they looked at other unis and courses. I came back from the UCAS convention feeling quite happy with myself as I had had a good chat with some of the unis I was interested in and felt like my future was actually planned and in order. 

However, due to the fact that some of the unis I’d previously picked out no longer offered geography and history, yesterday my dad said he wanted to sit down with me and research other unis that were perhaps a bit far away for me to have considered at first that did the degree I was interested in, but dads being dads, I started googling and researching waiting for him to come and help and he went off and did some gardening for ages so once I’d exhausted what I was originally researching, I started looking at other degrees just out of interest. Which was – hence this post – a fatal error. Or was it? I don’t even know πŸ˜‚

Basically, I started questioning why I wanted to study history and geography in the first place, which isn’t an unusual thing to be asking myself because when I write my personal statement to apply to unis I’ll have to explain to the unis why I want to study that course. However when I thought about it, I realised I didn’t actually know why I had my mind set on studying that. I mean yes, I do enjoy geography and history and the overview and understanding of the world they give me, but am I really passionate about it? Is it something I’d want to work ridiculously hard for for the next three years? Do I even want a career to do with geography and history? 

The truth is, I may be enthusiastic about geography and history – I’d defend their importance in the education system to the ends of the earth if I could, because I think it’s really important to have an understanding about the wider world and the past world which allowed us to be and live the way we do today, but having enthusiasm for a subject is different from being passionate about it. Passion is more of a feeling, a thrill and a thirst to learn more about that particular thing, and if I’m being honest with myself, I’m not really passionate about history or geography. I do work hard, I do extra work and background reading when I have time, but that’s just because my teachers advise me to do it. I’d work hard at anything, even if I hated it, I think before I’d been a bit oblivious to that because I just assumed because I worked so hard at those subjects, I must really really love them. But then I thought back to my GCSEs and realised that although I worked extremely hard for each subject, I didn’t like everything or enjoy everything – science didn’t interest me, neither did maths or English – so came to the realisation yesterday that it’s more the desire to do well that drives me to work hard at history and geography, not my passion for them.

So then I though, what’s the point of studying those subjects at university when I’m not really passionate about them? It would just be illogical, I mean I enjoy history and geography now but I don’t think studying them in intense detail would interest me at all, I think by the end of a levels I might have reached my limit with them. Also, although I’d had it set in my head that I wanted to study geography and history, I had absolutely no idea where that would lead me as a career or what I even wanted to do as a career. Hence I changed my mind. Again. For like the 50 billionth time.

The other subject I am studying at a level is French. Before yesterday, I’d never considered seriously studying French after college. I mean, I knew I didn’t want to gradually lose my French skills after college so I didn’t want to finish it completely, but was just going to carry it on in my spare time at uni or choose a language module if the course allowed it. Then yesterday, for some unknown reason, I randomly googled language degrees and found one called European Studies (or varients of depending on which uni it is) where you basically study one or two European languages, cultural and social ideas within that country as well as European politics and history and honestly, it was like a light bulb was switched on in my head. 

If you didn’t know, last year I studied government and politics at school and it was unexpectedly thrilling. I loved learning about the way the government and the UK’s political system worked because it felt like I was learning something useful about the mysterious world of law-making and governance and political stuff, I almost carried on the subject at college but it wasn’t possible because of different exam boards so I would have had to retaken the year which would have been a bit pointless considering I did well in the exams. Since stopping politics, it’s still been in the back of my mind – I mean how couldn’t it have been with Brexit and Trump in the news every other day – but as with French, I hadn’t given it much serious thought, mainly because I didn’t know where it would lead me other than becoming a politician which wasn’t what I wanted. But then, the European Studies course just sounds so fascinating! We studied one module about the workings of the EU last year and it was my favourite by far, so I started thinking about maybe a career working for the EU – maybe as like a political advisor or the EU equivalent of the civil services (I’m not really sure if it would be possible now the UK is in the process of leaving the EU but who knows) be wise if there’s one thing I do feel strongly that I want to do with my life is to make a difference to the lives of others,so maybe this is the way to do it?
The more I’ve been contemplating this degree, the more I’ve realised that maybe French – or languages in general – is my passion. I mean, something must have made me decide to take French a level after 5 years of learning it (badly) in school with classes full of people who weren’t even interested in French and teachers who didn’t actually teach us properly,so maybe that was passion? Even now, I’m finding French hard and so so demanding, but still finding myself wanting to put in the effort and wanting to immerse myself in French culture by listening to French radio or watching French TV or reading French news, and I wouldn’t be doing that in my spare time if I didn’t love it would I?

When I think about it, I am very passionate about the importance of languages,especially in education as it’s a well-known fact us British people are reluctant language learners. But I strongly believe that if the way languages were taught and examined in schools was reformed, more young people would be encouraged to take languages, and this is a change I want to campaign for and make a difference towards. And because of this, I think it’s important for me to consider a language degree and not dismiss it on the grounds that I’m not confident enough or don’t have the ability because I have fought too hard for too long to get to even this competency in French which could barely be described as intermediate to give up. I want to keep fighting to become fluent in French and then help others to do the same in a far less stressful environment that students have to learn languages in today.

Although it may sound like I’ve got everything figured out now, I really don’t. Not many universities in the UK actually offer European Studies, and most of them are in Scotland which is miles and miles and miles from where I live. In addition to this, none of the universities I’ve already booked open days for under the pretence of doing geography and history at offer that course so I’m going to have cancel all my plans and start all over again. Finally I’m still yet to convince my parents – and myself – that I’m capable of making the right decision and that languages/politics is a viable career path for me. I mean don’t get me wrong my parents know I’m indecisive better than anyone – the only reason I’d managed to narrow the universities offering geography and history down to five was because they were the only ones within a reasonable distance (of which I mean about 150 miles) of home,and even then I couldn’t find a favourite but that wasn’t too much of an issue as I could figure that out once I’d visited them on their open days in the summer. So when I dropped the bombshell that I don’t want to study that anymore and wanted to change the course completely, they probably thought I’d gone mad. It took me long enough to decide to do geography and history – prior to that I wanted to do just history – so because I keep changing my mind, they probably think I don’t have a clue what I want and will get to uni and change my mind after a few weeks. And honestly, I’m struggling myself to trust myself to make the right decision. It’s hard, and I’m sure there are many other people my age going through the same thing. It’s drilled into us that what we decide to do at uni will set us in a particular path for life – as we progress few education, we gradually make our options narrower and narrower by going from studying 10 GCSEs, to 3 a levels, to one/two subjects at degree level – but that’s not the case, because many degrees lead to a wide variety of careers and sometimes you don’t even need a specific degree for a job, so really unless you do something very specific like ship building, then you should be fine. I’m gradually coming to terms with the fact that my choice for university degrees won’t ruin my future, or limit me too much, but I feel like the next week or so are going to be very hectic trying to persuade my parents and myself that European Studies is what I want to do.

Anyway, that was a bit of a long ramble so congratulations if you made it to the end. If you have any tips for choosing what to do at uni or are in the same situation as me, feel free to comment below. πŸ™‚

We went on a geography field trip to Cardiff today and had a guided tour if the Senedd (Welsh assembly building) which was really interesting and honestly helped with the whole falling-back-in-love-with-politics thing.
Author: Em is Lost

I'm a teenage blogger who loves adventure and the great outdoors. I enjoy blogging about a range of topics including scouting, politics, feminism, world affairs and the life of a teenager in general.

28 thoughts on “//My plan (or lack of) for the future//”

  1. That’s so good that you found a course you really want to do! It’s important that you know what you’re passionate about because like you said, 3 years is a long time to study something if you’re not interested in it. Good luck on finding the unis and your application πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This was a terrific read – genuinely I love listening to other people talk about their interests. I hope you find the right one for you and additionally, good on you for keeping with French. I dropped it a couple of months back because it wasn’t necessary for my plans but oh do I miss it (at time!). Keep up with the research, ask questions and go to open days! Ordering a bunch of prospectuses helps I think (even if you don’t think you’ll end up going to that uni it’s always good to see what’s out there). Plus lol some prospectuses smell really great like the paper quality wow XD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Ah that’s a shame but understandable, French is a beautiful language! Will do, I’m sort of in the process of deciding which open days to go to, I have about 20 perspectuses already from when I wanted to do history and geography but those unis don’t do languages so I had to order a load more πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ OMG YESS THAT’S SO TRUE some seriously do smell great tho, then there’s the ones that smell really strongly of ink and give you a headache πŸ˜… what are you hoping to do at uni/what are you studying now if you don’t mind me asking?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. French is terrific and really, you’re brilliant for continuing with it. I wish I could juggle it alongside my other three but I feel that they’d suffer.
        AWH! But hey, fresh copies! I ordered a bunch at the beginning of the year but they were for 2017 entry but now it’s so exciting how they’re for 2018!
        Omg you get me! When my brother was applying he ordered Southampton (a while back now) and the paper was gorgeous.
        Of course I don’t mind πŸ™‚ I’m in Year 12 comme toi and I’m studying Maths, Further Maths and Physics. I aim to study Maths but a fraction of me is open to joint honours, with Physics.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Aw thanks! Yeah I get what you mean, I’m only doing three a levels anyway and even then it’s hard to juggle – my French class has decreased from 11 to 5 people because they just found it too difficult to keep up with as it is quite fast paced. True! I got a load from a UCAS convention I went to last week too πŸ˜‚ yessss. Wow you’re a levels sound so difficult, ah right that’s brave of you! I’m still not sure what I want to study because although I’m really interested in European Studies, I can’t decide whether it’s more important for me to choose a course or uni if you get me, because I feel like I’d be open to study a different course at a uni that I loved but because the choice of unis for European Studies is very limited, I feel like I might end up somewhere I don’t like just because I want to do the course but I don’t think I could cope with being at a uni that I didn’t like. So I’m not sure if I should do French and politics or history and politics at a uni where I could study a language alongside somewhere that I really like, because I love the sound of Keele but they don’t do language degrees 😭 but I could do history and politics and learn French alongside and have it credited in my degree title. There are so many options – I’m a really indecisive person if you couldn’t tell πŸ˜‚

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Oh gosh that happened to us too! We have two French classes, one had about 5 and the other 11 or something and the bigger class decreased massively – I was definitely not the first to drop! Languages at A Level are incredibly hard – out of my four subjects it was the hardest, and when I levelled them up I felt I could score higher in Physics than in French (and Physics takes less out of me when it comes to revision). Ah a UCAS convention! I think we have one next term.
            What does European Studies encompass? I’m intrigued! I completely get you. To be honest I feel that even at the end of Year 12 following careers talks and whatnot it’s still so hard to have concrete opinions on universities and courses. I anticipate that it’ll really kick in strongly in Year 13 come legit application time. Hey I think it’s great how you’re clearly researching and evaluating your options – researching is a weird experience I feel because like…we’re growing up! Just yesterday I was in Year 7! I think have a chat with your careers advisor at school. Like a solid chat. I know I need one myself XD

            Liked by 1 person

            1. Yeah! My french teacher herself said languages shouldn’t be taught at a level – it’s unfair because they’re examined in the same way as other subjects but they’re more of a skill than a subject as such. That’s fair enough, I do sometimes feel like I could get I higher grade if I’d had taken law or something but then taking French has made me realise just how much I love languages. It’s basically European history and politics and the study of one/two European languages and their culture. I didn’t know about it until last week but it caught my eye immediately! Yeah that’s true, my college is putting a lot of pressure on us to figure it out now as we have to write our personal statements over the summer holidays as well as going to uni open days. Ikr time has gone so quickly! Can’t believe we’ve nearly finished year 12 already 😱 yeah that would probably be a good idea, although I feel like my indecisiveness might be beyond even the help of a careers advisor πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ my parents told me to just go with my gut instinct but I’m not studying a level interpret-what-your-gut-is-telling-you-to-do so that’s not really helpful πŸ˜‚ best of luck with figuring things out though! Have you got any unis in mind that you’re interested in?

              Like

            2. Exactly – and I’m not sure if you’re on the new AQA spec for French but it looks literally impossible. I think the fact you’ve stuck with French is brill especially as it’s made you realise how much you like languages! This helps so much, the whole clicking-of-le-subjects. Oh that encompasses a lot! Lots of variation and room for depth – the course sounds brilliant for you. Aw I love how it’s a relatively novel discovery too!
              Tell me about it. We have to give our first drafts of the Personal Statement in late June, as well as juggle visiting unis.
              I’m sure the advisor will have buckets of useful, relevant knowledge! HAHAHA OMG TBH I would have benefitted from A Level Gut Reading!
              I’ve looked at loads but Kings, Imperial, Warwick, Southampton, Cardiff have stuck out. But to be honest it’s so hard because I don’t have my predicted grades yet so I don’t know how high I can aim. Like should I not achieve what most of them want in Maths then I have to cross them off. Gah! How about you!

              Liked by 1 person

            3. I am doing the new AQA spec, fun times πŸ˜‚ I’m not sure how it compares to other exam boards though. The speaking exam is just ridiculous – there’s so much they want you to fit in to such a short amount of time. Yeah true! I hope the course is right for me, I’m definitely really interested in it – I did as level politics last year and loved it, especially the module on the EU although I’m not sure how relevant the degree would be because of Brexit – I’ve been researching careers with the EU that sound amazing but you have to be an EU national, Brexit couldn’t have come at a more inconvenient time for me. Yeah! Since I started thinking about uni I always wanted to do a degree that was more obscure rather than doing a subject like history that loads of people do. Really?! Our first drafts are due in September and I thought that was early! I’ll also have geography course work to write up over the summer and I need to find some way of keeping up with French because if I go 6+ weeks without doing any French it’ll be really hard to get back into it in September. Hopefully! Haha πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ oooh nice, I know what you mean! Part of me wants to consider Oxbridge but I also have no clue if I can a) get the grades b) pass the entrance exams and c) get through the interview, I think altogether it would be too much pressure. We get progress grades at the end of each term which are supposed to help us, but I don’t see how they are accurate because we never do actual exam papers as there aren’t any for the new spec so my progress grades are probably a lot higher than what I’d get in the exams.

              I’m considering a lot of unis at the moment πŸ˜‚ for European Studies I’m considering Southampton, Bath, Royal Holloway, Nottingham, Nottingham Trent and maybe Leeds although ideally I’d love to stay in the south. If I was going to do French and politics I was looking at Bristol, Southampton, Cardiff and Exeter. But I do really love the sound of Keele so there’s also the option of doing history and politics with French alongside. I think it’s a good idea to apply to five unis with a range of entry requirements so you’re prepared for all eventualities as well but the careers advisors should be able to help with that.

              Liked by 1 person

            4. Aw no – isn’t it just so hard though! La cyber-sociΓ©tΓ© was just too sophisticated and argh. I think if I had more time I could’ve made something of it but French is just so time-consuming. I never learnt my vocabulary. How are you finding keeping up with the grammar? And research project?
              Ah cool! So was the AS as the same time as GCSEs?
              Oh that’s a really interesting factor to, well, factor in. Brexit. Good luck on that one – it’s a very good point to bring up.
              Obscurity for the win! Though Maths isn’t, I get you!
              Apparently so. I really hope we get some talks on how to actually get started. Exciting times ahead. Oh my gosh coursework I remember GCSE Geo coursework – I can’t even begin to imagine what it’s like at A Level. How is it?
              I see your point. Languages are like Maths in that sense – if I don’t practice a technique regularly enough I forget it.
              Omg yes Oxbridge. There’s another “should I shouldn’t I” university. I plan to sit the Oxford entrance paper in the Autumn Term later this year and I’m having regular sessions with a member of the Maths department for preparation. Gah!
              I love how like, “on it” you are with thinking about university. Your list looks really good and that’s absolutely right, it should have a range of requirements! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

              Liked by 1 person

            5. It is! Ugh I hate la cyber sociΓ©tΓ© SO much! There’s just hardly anything to it?? I felt like the whole unit was basically criticising young people of spending too much time on the internet. We did that topic first as well in September but I’m glad we.got.it out of the way because the other topics are a lot better! Le Patrimoine was brilliant as we got to learn a lot about french culture and next year we get to do French politics which will be great! Yeah, it’s very fast paced as an a level. Yeah vocab takes ages to learn, I use an app called quizlet which makes it a bit more fun. I find grammar really interesting! I like it because it’s sort of like problem solving which is what I liked about maths at GCSE although I think I’ve just about mastered le prΓ©sent, passΓ© composΓ©, imparfait, futur and conditionnel, but the subjonctif and impΓ©ratif are a bit iffy. Also I don’t know if you did COD and COI but they are soooo confusing. My teacher is running a revision class this Thursday though so hopefully I can get her to clarify that. We’re not starting the research project until January, but I’m quite looking forward to it and I’m hopefully going to do it on something related to my other a levels geography and history so it’ll be a bit easier, maybe the Haiti earthquake as Haiti is a francophone.

              Yeah I took geography and history GCSE exams in year 10, so I had to take up another subject in year 11 to fill in the gaps in my timetable and politics sounded really interesting! It’s funny because it was way less stressful than studying a levels at college, it just felt like another GCSE because the teachers taught it like a GCSE and it obviously paid off because the class got really good results!

              Yes, I think I might have to ask about Brexit at the open days and see if it will affect what I want to do.
              Well you have to be very talented to do maths at uni or even a level so I’d say it’s still quite a unique thing to do!
              Haha the geography coursework well I’m not really sure how much or what we have to write for it really but we can either do it on coastal defences/erosion or deprivation/regeneration projects. We’ve done a practice field trip for both and we have the real ones next term but I might just ask if I can use my practice data for the real thing because I did it well so I don’t see the point with stressing during exam season to collect more data. If it goes well though it’ll be a bit less pressure for exams as it makes up 20% of the final grade I think.
              Yeah, I know what you mean! Ooh good luck to you! I don’t think I could cope with the pressure to be fair, and I think I’m only thinking about Oxbridge because of it’s prestige rather than because it’s where I want to be/a course I want to do, but good on you if you’re going for it.
              Haha well my sister started uni in September and I went through the whole process of visiting unis with her and that so I’ve been very much immersed in thinking about uni for the past few years πŸ˜‚ it’s scary now it’s my turn though because it always felt so far away!

              Like

            6. I totally agree. It was the first topic we did (alongside La famille which was slightly less horrific but wow did I have ZERO opinions on anything) and it wasn’t great. Bizarrely I didn’t click well with Le Patrimoine but I really loved the film studies! I think you’ll love the French politics. Although it’s an A2 module at the time I did some extra work and I looked into Immigration and I was genuinely gripped.
              Ah quizlet! Good stuff πŸ™‚
              And good on you with the grammar – I struggled most with le subjonctif! Although I loved how savoir went to sache for some reason XD
              And that’s a great way to link your subjects through the research project. Reminds me of my EPQ – I’m doing it on something maths-related πŸ™‚
              I think it’s brilliant how you tackled AS content when technically at GCSE level. Especially as the jump from GCSE to A Level is quite a big one, as we’ve all experienced.
              Daw I guess Maths is unique – but really it’s a subject which just boils down to intense practise. Practise practise practise. That’s why I like it so much. I don’t make notes. I don’t have to think. (Well I do but like not the way I would if I was doing an essay subject.) I just do. It’s active. It’s swift. It’s right or wrong. There’s only so much they can hurl at you at A Level.
              Whoa! Yes do try and use the first batch of data – hopefully they’ll permit that.
              Agreed! Our turn now!

              Liked by 1 person

            7. Yeah, I sort of clicked with them all so far apart from Le cyber sociΓ©tΓ© but we’re doing the cinema topic after half term so I don’t know how that will go, then we’ve got to study the film. Oooh yeah, I’ve been following the French election when I have time and it’s getting me excited for next year already πŸ˜‚ yeah, the subjonctif just seems a bit pointless like I’m not really sure when you’re meant to use that instead of the present but ah well. Ahah yeah vous sachiez has to be the best thing ever πŸ˜‚ it sounds so funny to say.
              Yeah! Ooh cool, how’re finding epq? I was going to do it but I didn’t like the teacher and didn’t have a topic that I really wanted to do for it so I dropped it but a lot of my friends did it and found it really stressful.
              Yeah although strangely it didn’t make the jump any easier, although I’ve found that a level history isn’t much harder than GCSE which is good, but geography and French definitely have big jumps.
              That’s true! I don’t make many notes with French either as there isn’t really content to learn as such just vocab opinions and grammar rules.
              Hopefully! Eeeek.

              Liked by 1 person

            8. Oh the cinema topic is so fun! We watched masses of trailers and it was for me my favourite topic. I was sad, leaving halfway through. That’s great to be keeping up the French politics!
              AHAHA OUI OUI! That made the subjunctive worth it.
              Lol EPQ is a weird one for me. I was so against it and nobody really thought I’d do it but I pumped out the bulk of the year’s worth of work in a weekend. I submitted my first draft before the Easter holidays commenced and now it’s a case of refining it once I get it back. It feels weird to have done it so cleanly in one two-day period. It’s probably terrible but thankfully I have time to edit! It’s easier to work with something rather than nothing, if you know what I mean.
              πŸ™‚

              Liked by 1 person

            9. Ooh good! I’ll look forward to that. Yeah but there’s nothing to say you can’t not pick up French again in the future! Definitely did πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
              Ooh that’s pretty good going, my friends spent months doing theirs. Yeah that’s true, and I’m sure it’s not terrible! At least you have time to improve it though.

              Like

  3. This was a really well written post πŸ™‚ I hope you figure out what you want to do, it sounds like you’re really interested in this European studies course and even if things with the EU are unsure, I would say it’s probably got loads of transferable skills that employers love. Also, as for going to uni far far far away, I’m moving about four hours away by car which doesn’t sound like a lot but it feels like a long way. I’m terrified but I think it will be a really good experience πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! That’s very true I guess! Aww yes best of luck to you. A lot of the unis I’m looking at are about 3 hours away by car, but I’ll be doing most of my travel to and from there and home by train which can take anywhere between 3-5 hours. It is a scary thought being away from home but also a wonderful experience to live in a new place, I hope you enjoy it!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh, Em! What a great post. I recommend you to do what you want to do. I believe Your parents should understand that very few who`s 17-18, know what exactly they want to do in life. Sometimes the way towards a career is messy and insecure, but that`s life. I know you`ll get there someday πŸ™‚ Don`t worry too much about your future – what`s meant to happen, will happen anyways. I`m currently studying Social Anthropology, but I`ve applied for history, just in case. I love history. I think it`s also important to know that some topics in a course will be more boring – not everything will be attractive, but that`s how it is. As long as you`re passionate about your study and love what you`re doing in the end, you`ll do fine. Also, I don`t know what it`s like in the UK, but here, you can do single subjects beside your degree/course. So as an exam,e I can select two single psychology subjects, while I`m doing my BA in Anthropology. That way I get to more of what I love – and I can pick topics that I`m interested in from other courses, at the same time. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Yes, I’ve been discussing it a lot with my dad, and he’s being very helpful in helping me decide what courses to look at. I’ve been looking at various courses involving languages, politics and history and the more I research into it, the more I feel like I want to go into politics in the future in some capacity, or teach politics or something,because I think it’s really important. Ooh that sounds interesting, yeah I’m trying to find universities that offer a lot of choice in modules so I can take modules from other subjects. I’ve found one called European and international studies in London which sounds interesting, as you can take modules from French, geography, history, politics, international relations, sociology and even literature, so it definitely has a lot of choice! Thanks for the advice, and hope your degree is going well for you!

      Like

      1. Ah, that sounds great! I hope everything works out for you, Em. Good luck with your choice. I`m studying Social Anthropology, which is quite interesting, but I`m still unsure about whether my decision was 100 % right or not. So I applied for history. Just in case, you know. πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I really relate to this post! Even though I’m currently in university, I had soooo many doubts about figuring out what to study before I got here. I still doubt it sometimes, hahah πŸ™‚ I definitely try to remember that just because I decided to study a certain thing, that doesn’t mean I am stuck in that career for the rest of my life – there’s tons of paths to take!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

