//The struggle of fitting in//

Something I’ve been struggling a lot with recently is feeling lonely. It’s about weird really, and I don’t really understand it nor like it. It’s just sort of like, even when I am surrounded by my friends or my family, I’m not really “there”. I mean, physically I am there, but I’m struggling to feel like part of the group a lot. 

It’s sort of like when you think you’ve found people who are similar to you and you fit in with, they understand you and then after a while everyone starts to change and develop their friendships but I’m just sort of stuck in the past being the same old me wishing things could go back to how they were. I guess it’s like feeling disconnected? I don’t know. But it’s always in the back of my mind, this fuzzy thought that I don’t belong here or fit in, and that’s probably the reason why I keep feeling like this because I don’t allow myself to adapt to changing social situations and group dynamics, not because I don’t want to but because I don’t know how.

It’s just..quite frustating I guess, because now I’m sort of stuck back in the same place I was a few months ago before I’d made new friends. And now it’s like a never ending cycle of feeling alone and “outside”. 

Yeah not the most cheerful post,sorry about that, I just needed to put this down in words in the hope that it might disperse some of the fog that’s currently clouding over my mind. 

Hope you’re all doing well. 😊

Author: Em is Lost

I'm a teenage blogger who loves adventure and the great outdoors. I enjoy blogging about a range of topics including scouting, politics, feminism, world affairs and the life of a teenager in general.

13 thoughts on “//The struggle of fitting in//”

  1. I actually felt like this today! Even though everyone around you is still there, it’s strange.
    I guess emotions get the better of us at times and I hope you feel much better soon! Maybe join a new club or focus on what makes you happy for a while and find happiness within yourself πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Em

    I just thought I’d drop by to let you know about this campaign that I’ve just launched. It’s called Tackling Racism With Haikus and its all about using our voices as bloggers to fight negative things, such as racism, that exist in the world. I wondered if you’d like to get involved? You can read more about it on my blog. I know you’ve done the Finding Our Feet Project so I thought it would be great if someone with some experience joined in. I’m hoping this is something that spreads around the blogosphere and really makes a difference.

    Thanks so much and don’t worry if you can’t help out for any reason. That’s totally totally fine and I understand.
    Gracie ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi! I’ve just read your post and I think it sounds like such a great idea; you’re definitely right in that we should use our voices and words to spread positive messages and I think racial equality is a great message to spread. I’d love to get involved – I think it’s a lovely idea and something easy enough for lots of people to get involved with. I shall get thinking and write a haiku to share on my blog and if you need any help or advice about running a project and getting people involved you can email me anytime at lostadventuresblog@gmail.com or comment on here 😊 It’s a really lovely thing that you’re doing and I’m delighted to be able to take part.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t like to assume I understand everyone, but this is one though that has been lingering at the back of my mind for a while now, but for me, I’m not sure if it’s actually me who is changing, or if my situation is like yours, where you feel everyone else is changing but you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

