//The world, c’est extraordinaire!//

Do you ever just think of the world around you, of the people living, breathing, thriving, on the many continents of the earth and the sounds and sights and smells they are experiencing, and just be in awe of everything? Of how everything came to be and how much there is out there that you have not yet seen, or may never see? Or when you look at the sky and your gaze travels for miles and miles, seeing sky that stretches over other segments of the earth and adorns world’s viewed by different eyes, do you feel the rush to run and explore and see? 

It’s the pull of adventure and exploration. It’s hard to put into words – I could write a thousand and still not do justice to it – but when you feel it, you feel it. It makes me feel alive and free, as if anything is possible. And it is – there’s a whole world of possibility waiting at our fingertips. This world is extraordinary.

And it’s waiting for us to explore it.

Today I went to my old scout hut – I haven’t been back since I left in September. I grew up there and have many amazing memories of the place and the adventures that scouting brought me, and however stupid it sounds, the very smell of the building and the feeling of the floor under my feet reignited all those years of memories and the yearning to explore. The urge to just

j u m p

And leap into the unknown was almost overpowering.

I know that wherever I travel on this earth,the spruit if adventure will always be with me. It’s part of me; it runs through my veins, drawing me to the world like a gravitational pull. And maybe I’ll never find somewhere where I belong, because I belong to the world and the world is my home, and the home of the billions of other people on my planet. I can’t be tethered to one place for too long, I need to fly and soar and explore. But that’s okay because no matter where I go or who I become or what I do in life, deep down, I’ll always be me.

Author: Em is Lost

I'm a teenage blogger who loves adventure and the great outdoors. I enjoy blogging about a range of topics including scouting, politics, feminism, world affairs and the life of a teenager in general.

14 thoughts on “//The world, c’est extraordinaire!//”

  1. I feel the same way. All the time. Honestly, there’s so much out there that I want to see and do but never will, and at the same time so much I’ve already done that other people will never get the chance to experience. This is such an inspiring, deep, and well thought-out post. You are an amazing writer too. This is so beautiful and I just love it even more because I can relate so strongly to it.
    xx,
    Ivy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, it’s nice to think about it front he perspective of how much of the world you’ve already experienced – I didn’t think about that when writing this! Thank you very much, I’m glad you can relate! Xx

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah that’s exactly it! It’s like we’re all living in our little worlds inside the world and sometimes we need to take a step back and look at things differently to really appreciate how extraordinary the world is!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

