//Twenty sixteen: in review//

Hellooooo!! Long time no see, right? Sorry about that guys, but I’m glad to be back to do my yearly review of EVERYTHING that has happened in 2016!!

As you may know, 2016 marked the birth (yes, birth) of my blog ‘Adventures of a Lost Teen’. I started this blog on February 14th, so I think I’ll start my review from there, considering nothing really interesting happened in January anyway!

Before I review personal highlights of the year, I thought I’d talk you thrugh some of my favourite peices of writing I have shared on this blog. The first post that I wroteis somewhat cringey but nevertheless, //Fresh start//, gave me a standard of writing from which I could improve and develop throughout the year, and hopefully I have!?

Throughout the year, I’ve tried to write about a variety of topics – both those that are important to me and others that evaluate what is going on in the world around us. I wrote some feminist-y posts on the topics of; body shamingwhat it is to be feminine girls in the Scouting movementsexualistation of women’s clothing and equality in fashion. During 2016, I have definitely become more aware of feminism as an equality movement and have become more interested in issues that feminists are challenging, and I hope that has shown through my writing on these topics. I have to thank fellow bloggers and internet friends for introducing me to the idea of feminism and educating me about it ansd I hope next year I’ll write more about issues of inequality around the world.

For the first half of 2016 (and last half of 2015) I studied as level government and politics at school. I was surprised to discover through the year that I am actually really interested in politics and how the government works. Studying politics at school has to be one of the highlights of the year as I felt I really benefitted from learning how the UK’s governmental system works and being allowed to form my own political opinions, so much so that I wrote a post encouraging the teaching of politics within British schools. I also shared my view of the EU referendum, which is something I wouldn’t have known anything about prior to studying politics at school.

Another, more exciting thing, I did in the blogosphere this year was box swaps. This involved sending a parcel of ‘British things’ to some of my blogging friends around the world in return for a parcel from them of things from their country or county. I really, really enjoyed doing this over the summer holidays and it was without doubt one of the most exciting things I have done this year. I wold like to say a big thank you for my friends Michelle, Elly, EveRebecca and Just A Blank Space for making it possible!! 🙂

The last highlight from this year in the blogosphere (ayyy it rhymes…ish) is the Finding Our Feet Project. This was just another random idea that came to me but with the help of the fabulous Eve and Victoria, we turned it into reality. The aim of the project was to collate short video clips of bloggers ‘walking’ feet, along with little messages of advice or support for fellow teenagers, and produce a video that anyone can access when they’re in need of some support or advice. The finished video is still up on my channel and you can watch it below if you wish. I’d like to thank everyone who participated in the project and everyone who has watched and shared the video. The Finding Our Feet Project was my way of giving back to the blogging community, and I’m sure Eve and Victoria would agree when I say that the blogging community has been, and continues to be, a place of support and friendliness that has helped me out many times. 🙂

So, now that I have somewhat summarised my year of blogging, let’s move onto to other things I have done in my personal life throughout the year in the form of a list, because I love a good list.

  • EXAMSSSSSSSSS. The first part of 2016, as I’m sure is the case for a lot of you, was dominated by exams and revisions and exams and stress and exams. As I was in my final year of secondary school, I took all of my GCSE exams and two AS level exmas during May and June. Although it was obviously a very stressful time, I have to say during exam season I was the most motivated that I had been for ages – and I probably haven’t been that motivated since! Although I may have felt some of my exams went terribly, I was really surprised when I got my results in August, so I did finish secondary school on a high.
  • Prom!!!!!!!!! After the exams were over, I went to prom. And it was AMAZING. It was so much fun to just relax with friends, have a bit of a dance and just generally have a good time. The preparations for prom were also fun, I loved chosing a dress and trying out different hairstyles and make-up, which I shared with you here and here.
  • Leaving secondary school. Of course, prom and exams eventually led to me leaving school, which I wasn’t too sad about as I didn’t really enjoy school that much and just wanted a fresh start at college.
  • And that leads me on to starting college. In September, I began studying a levels in French, geography and history. The fact that I have survived this long is honstly shocking because a levels are really HARD and a constant source of stress. Howver I am really enjoying the subjects I am studying and even managed to make new friends, which I wasn’t expecting to when I left school!
  • Over the summer between school and college, I did some pretty exciting things too. I think one of the first things that happened was going to a Catfish and the Bottlemen concert, which was BEYOND WORDS. They have to be one of my favourite bands ever. I also went camping in Cornwall and Devon, which was brilliant and nice to just take a break form daily life. Later on inthe summer holidays, I went to Pembrokeshire, Wales, with my family, aunts, uncles, cousins and grandparents to celebrate my grandma’s 80th birthday. That was really good too and I have now fallen a tiny bit in love with Wales!!
  • Throughout the autumn months, I have been so busy with a levels that not much has really occured, except form me turing 17.
  • Ooh actually, just remembered, my sister went off to university in September as well, so I have been trying to adjjust to having one less person at home for the past few months, which has been both harder and easier than I though (?) (don’t worry, I’m confused too).
  • Then we’ve just had Christmas which I really enjoyed this year.
  • And that sort of bring us up to date, right?
  • I guess so…

A few other things I want to talk about briefly: BOOKS. So this year, I got back into using Goodreads again and set myself a goal of reading 20 books by the end of the year. And…..I have read 19.5 books!! Over Christmas, I haven’t had much time to read, so have fallen behind a bit. Then I got a new book for Christmas and started reading that, so now I’m in a situation where it’s the last day of the year and I am halfway through two books!! I need to try to finish one of them by the end of the day – I am determined to reach my goal, haha.

Also, this year marked one year of friendship with The Blog Squad – a group of friends who I am very grateful for and don’t know what I would do without. Much love to you guys. ❤

So that’s been my year, hope you’ve all had a good 2016 and happy new year for tomorrow!! 😀

 

Author: Em is Lost

I'm a teenage blogger who loves adventure and the great outdoors. I enjoy blogging about a range of topics including scouting, politics, feminism, world affairs and the life of a teenager in general.

9 thoughts on “//Twenty sixteen: in review//”

  1. Aah your blog only started in February?!? THIS SEEMS REALLY WEIRD AND RECENT WOW. I feel like I’ve been reading your blog for ages! But yay for all these SUPER COOL bloggy projects so thanks for doing them! Congrats on your exams and settling a little more into school, and here’s to a hopefully good 2017! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

