//When You Try Your Best But It’s Never Good Enough//

Hello! It’s been a while since I last found the time, and motivation, to blog but here I am still alive, drowning in work, yes, but very much still alive. 

For those of you who don’t know, I’ve just started studying a-levels at sixth form college. Everyone says the jump from GCSEs to a-levels is so big and despite being told this repetitively throughout last year, it still took me by surprise. It’s not that a-levels are much harder than GCSEs in regards to the actual content we have to learn – don’t get me wrong it is inuch greater depth than at school but it’s not that difficult that you can’t understand what you’re learning as such – it’s the fact that teachers expect so much from you that shocked me.

It’s not the homework, even though the sheer volume of it does eat up my weekends most weeks, I can cope with that. It’s everything else that I’m struggling with. Being expected to remember and recall every single bit of information you’ve learnt about so far on the spot (half the stuff I’m sure we haven’t even learnt but we are questioned on it anyway), is what’s hard. And being expected to find time to do extra research outside of class on top of all our homework. It just feels like whatever I do it’s never good enough.

I’ve spent hours and hours on homework tasks these past few weeks, using up all my energy and putting all my effort into them but still am told by my teachers that I ‘could’ve done more’. I spent most of yesterday revising for a geography test and was feeling confident that I actually knew and understood what we’ve learnt so far yet when I opened the test, I found I was unable to answer half the questions.

On top of this, I’m finding it hard to balance all of my subjects. Prior to this week, I’d been trying to spend equal time on each yet found that that meant I’ve been not quite keeping up to the teachers high standards as I hadn’t been dedicating enough time to each (there are only 24 hrs in a day and I am not a superhuman so idk what they expect from me seriously) so this week I’ve dedicated the most time to geography because of the end of topic test we had today but now I’ve started falling behind with my work in French and history! You can’t win with a-levels, you really can’t.

So I don’t know which subjects to prioritise, if any. I just want to do equally well in all three but it seems impossible to stay on top of everything. It feels like whenever I go to lesson, we learn about 2356 billion new things and I just get further and further behind. I can’t even remember what I learnt in class today because my head is just one huge cluttered mess of facts that I don’t know what to with. What’s worse is most other people seem to give off the general impression that they’re coping which just makes me feel even worse about my capabilities. Everyone seems to be able to absorb the information being thrown at them whereas my ‘knowledge absorption sponge’ is full of holes and I’m lucky if I can retain one thing after each lesson. 

So yeah my general impression of a-levels at the moment is that no matter how hard I try, it’ll never be good enough to meet the teacher’s – or my own – standards.

Anyway, are you doing a-levels? How are you getting on with school? Let me know! ๐Ÿ™‚

Author: Em is Lost

I'm a teenage blogger who loves adventure and the great outdoors. I enjoy blogging about a range of topics including scouting, politics, feminism, world affairs and the life of a teenager in general.

31 thoughts on “//When You Try Your Best But It’s Never Good Enough//”

  1. I totally get what you mean! I’m in my second year of A levels and last year was torturous because I had 4 subjects and no time for anything. This year I’ve dropped to 3 which is a lot more manageable but there’s still tons of work to do. The thing about A levels is that there’s no barrier to stop working because there’s always extra research you can be doing and everyone really does expect so much of you and it’s so overwhelming. You will most definitely survive though. Eventually. Somehow. XD good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aghh I can’t imagine what doing four must have been like – three is hard enough! That’s exactly what I was trying to get across whilst writing this post – there’s no ‘end point’ or finite amount of work you can do which is so annoying because you constantly feel like unless you spend a couple of hours researching after every lesson, you aren’t doing enough. I hope I survive but I don’t know how I’ll manage it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I find it ridiculous how people expect perfection. Whatever you do, try not to let self-doubt creep in, because that can destroy a person. Do the best you can, but try not to let other people make you reach their standards. Wish you all the best. : )

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You’re doing your best, you’re working your hardest-what more could anyone expect? You’ve only just started A-Levels, it’s going to take a while to get into the full swing of things. It’s so important that you take the time to chill in the evenings to help you stay sane! Set a time to stop working and then look after yourself by doing something you enjoy x

    Like

  4. Don’t feel bad about not blogging as much. School work is so much more important. You are so smart and so capable. I know you will work something out and you’ll do just fine. Remember to take care of yourself because sometimes we forget to do that. Good luck. โค
    -Dani

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I mean, I am still a little way from A levels so I don’t exactly have experience of this… But I can see that it sounds pretty stressful and I can definitely imagine that. I spend a lot of time doing other stuff I guess — so although I’m not constantly doing schoolwork, I’ll go away and blog/write/music whatever. Expecting you to remember every single thing is insane! I really hope that things improve at school for you *hugs* โค

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ohh, I feel the same as you. You KNOW my opinion on French, but the rest are so difficult too. I have so so much to do and I’m feeling overwhelmed, but we’ll get through this. I KNOW we will.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad I’m not the only one, I think ALL a levels are just so ridiculously difficult to be honest but French is certainly very tricky. But the fact we’ve survived a month already just goes to show that we can survive another months, and a few more and before we know it we’ll have finished the first year of a levels. I’m the same but yes we will get through it, I’m not giving up that easily!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I’M THE SAME!! I’m taking four A-levels; Geography, English Literature, ICT and Psychology, all of which are SUPER hard, there’s so much to remeber! The jump was massive, and just the general standard of work and vocabulary you have to know is crazy. But just remeber we feltโ€‹ like this at GCSEs and we did great, as soon as we get into the swing of things we will be fine! Remeber โ€‹we have half terms to enjoy, as well as catch up on any work too! xx

    Like

    1. Argh they all sound really hard! I can definitely agree that geography has SO much content, it’s ridiculous! Yeah the jump is so big and that’s very true! Pre-GCSEs was such a long time ago though, haha, but I suppose they did feel hard back then. I am so ready for half term right now 😂 good luck with your a levels and I’m glad I’m not the only one who’s feeling a but overwhelmed xx

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad I’m not alone. Not having free time to relax is what’s dragging me down most, I just feel like if I’m not studying all the time I’m failing. But we’ll get through this, good luck with the ACT. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m the same too! I started year 12 with four subjects and have already dropped down to the three! It’s so hard finding the balance between them all, I completely know how you’re feeling at the moment. We can all get through it together! :’)

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Ugh, this sounds horrible! I felt the same last year, but this year I’ve somehow worked out how to manage better. The only tip I could maybe give is to record some of your notes, then you can listen to it on your way to places. Otherwise, just try not to get super overwhelmed! It’s not the end of the world if you aren’t the best, give yourself time to relax ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Yeah we can TOTALLY relate…I get stressed out too about my “best” not being good enough. School can be so stressful, for me it’s mostly the homework though. But is always works out in the end.
    We just discovered your blog, we love it! It’s so beautiful and we’re teen girls too se we can relate to like all your posts haha
    Looking forward to following!
    xx,
    Ivy and Em
    https://twogirlstwomountains.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

