//How To Fall (Back) In Love With Reading//

Short answer: pick up a book and just read it because OMG THE COVERS ARE SO PRETTY AND THE BEST FEELING EVER IS WHEN YOU GET EMOTIONALLY ATTACHED TO FICTIONAL CHARACTERS (except from when/if they die) AND START TO IMAGINE YOURSELF LIVING IN THEIR FICTIONAL WORLD (totally not referring to a certain poplar ~magical~ realm here…).

But for some people, falling in love (or back in love with reading, as I’m sure there are others out there who fall in and out of phases of reading ALL THE BOOKS then not reading much at all. as I tend to do) with reading – and therefore books – isn’t so easy (*sighs* what a miserable life that must be…) so here’s a longer, more helpful answer!

Try out different genres.

It took me ages to work out what genres of books I like – in fact I’m probably still trying to figure it out now! Finding the right genre for you can be hard, and often requires you to read a variety of books of various genres, some you’ll find will interest you, others will not. But once you’ve found a book that you do love, explore other books in that genre. Sometimes I go off reading for a while because I’ve spent a lot of time just reading books from a particular genre. It’s easy to forget that there are other genres out there when you’ve had your head stuck in various historical fiction books for months for example (as happens to me often) so sometimes trying a new genre can help you get into reading again. And you never know, you may discover a new genre that interests you on your quest back to loving reading!

Visit book stores.

This sounds pretty obvious, but never underestimate the power of a trip to a good book store. Seeing shelves upon shelves of shiny, colourful covers, each enclosing their own unique, exciting stories, waiting to be discovered always makes me fall back in love with books and if you’re new to reading, or haven’t been a big reader in the past, then book stores are a great place to start! The sheer multitude of books available in bookstores means you’re BOUND to find something that catches your interest, so don’t be afraid to spend time browsing through the books on offer and finding a story that interests you.

Make use of your local library.

Libraries can seem very daunting at first. I mean, there are stacks and stacks of books and everyone seems to look very purposeful in a library, knowing exactly which shelves to go to, picking up the first book they see, and leaving within the space of 5 minutes. But take your time to look around and explore all the FREE books that are on offer to you. The great thing about libraries is that you can borrow, and read, the books, without paying anything so then if you end up not liking the book, you haven’t wasted your money on it. I’d also suggest to take a look at your libraries website, where you can search for books and see which libraries have them on the shelves and place reservations on books you’d like to read but are not currently at your library – the library will then deliver these to your local library for you to pick up. If your library doesn’t happen to have the book you want to read, then you can request the library service to buy it, so you and others can enjoy that book.

Use Goodreads.

Goodreads is amazing. I only started using it properly a few months ago and I’m so glad I did! It as many wonderful features that help you discover new books and keep you motivated to read. For example you can display which book you are currently reading and update your progress on that book as your reading it. It really motivates me to keep up my reading, even if it’s just to see the little progress bar move along.

Screen Shot 09-03-16 at 02.57 PM.PNG
My ‘currently reading’.

You can also set yourself a goal of a set amount of books to read in the year. This year I set myself 20 books, as I started pretty late through the year, and I’ve currently read 11 – I’m reading the 12th at the moment and bought two books last weekend, which will make my total up to 14 once I’ve read them. I’m determined to reach my goal by the end of the year and set myself a higher target for next year! As I mentioned previously, Goodreads is great for finding new books. You can select the genres you are interested in, and Goodreads will recommend you books based on those genres and books you’ve already read.

Screen Shot 09-03-16 at 02.59 PM.PNG
Some of Goodread’s recommendations for me.

I also find the listopia feature quite useful. You can, for example, type ‘young adult dystopia’ into the search bar, click the ‘listopia’ tab, and it was show you lists have of ‘young adult dystopia’ books,ranked in order of popularity.

Screen Shot 09-03-16 at 03.01 PM.PNG
A YA dystopia list.

Goodreads also allows you to rate and review books, as well as reading others reviews. I always find it intriguing to read my friends reviews of books and see how they felt about them. Okay, that’s enough about Goodreads for now. I could ramble on about it FOREVER. It’s just so amazing.

Use Amazon’s book store.

I tend to use Amazon’s book store more than Goodreads for finding new books, purely because I find their filtering options more specific.

Screen Shot 09-03-16 at 02.50 PM.PNG
Amazon’s book store homepage.

As you can see, there are various different genres on the left side bar. When you click on a genre, it then displays a variety of sub genres so you can narrow down your search for books as much as you want and it will then list the results for you.

Screen Shot 09-03-16 at 03.03 PM.PNG
Young Adult sub categories.

Another thing I love about Amazon’s book store, is that you can order your search in order of publication date, meaning that it will show you a list of books starting with upcoming releases (up to two years in advance) so you can plan which books you want to pre-order/read in the future.

As with Goodreads, Amazon also shows you reviews of the books, although I personally prefer the reviewing system on Goodreads. What I find useful about Amazon though, is that it tells you the prices of the books and you can buy them straight from there.

I tend to use both Amazon and Goodreads in conjuction with eachother – I look for new books on Amazon, then add them to my ‘to read’ shelf in Goodreads, so I can keep track of all the books I want to read easily.

Part of falling in love – or back in love – with reading is discovering new books, so I’d highly recommend both Goodreads and Amazon’s Books Store for this. Obviously there are various other bookstores where you can discover new books on their website, which is handy if your prefer to buy books in stores, instead of online, but my personal favourites are these too.

I hope I’ve given you some useful tips about falling in love with reading. If you have any other tips, feel free to share them below!

 

Author: Em is Lost

I'm a teenage blogger who loves adventure and the great outdoors. I enjoy blogging about a range of topics including scouting, politics, feminism, world affairs and the life of a teenager in general.

15 thoughts on “//How To Fall (Back) In Love With Reading//”

  1. I love kove LOVE Goodreads! And Young Adult books. It’s all I read whoops… But books just make me happy. Part of the love I have for it is because of book bloggers because I love their reviews!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YAS SAME. Yeah! I think it’s wonderful how books – well, words carefully placed together to form sentences, really – can make us happy! Book bloggers are great – I love reading their reviews too, especially when they get excited over books!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Aah these are some great tips! I went through a massive reading slump around 2 years ago, but I think I kinda got back into reading through blogging…? Yep. that was great. *nods* And YAY libraries and Goodreads! I am always professing my love for the public library — I mean, FREE BOOKS, PEOPLES. And our library just got a cool thing where they lend out audibooks digitally too, yay. 😀 And yep Goodreads is so fabulous for finding new books to read.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad! That’s good, reading slumps are hard to get out of but I’m glad you managed it. Yes same! Oooh that’s cool! Did you know you can borrow ebooks from the library too and download them on your device? I haven’t tried it out yet but it sounds like a good idea. It is! I can spend hours at a time searching for books on there. 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Goodreads is honestly my favorite thing! It encourages me to read even when I dont feel like it, and always helps me out when I am feeling in a reading slump. I am finally getting out of a reading slump actually, and my super obnoxious year goal to read is actually what pushed me to jump back in again!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is so lovely and helpful to read! I fell completely out of love with reading during sixth form where I was studying all the time. So nice to see someone re-encourage me to get back into it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Personally I’m finding uni English much more interesting – hopefully this won’t happen to you but if you do lose faith with it a bit again during A levels honestly it does get better! But hopefully you’ll stay as passionate as you are right now 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

