//I Love – by Victoria//

Hi everyone, Victoria here from Addlepates and Book Nerds! This is a post to say thank you to my wonderful Em for doing a guest post on my blog. Yeah, it was ages ago, I’m very unorganised…

I asked bloggers to come and talk about things they love on my blog, so I thought I’d do the same for them. Other than reading, which is the obvious, I love making YouTube videos. I started my channel very recently, but I’ve found myself addicted to making all the new things. I have so many pages lying all over the place with ideas for my next videos – some are scripted, some are bullet point lists, some just vaguely say “midnight”, and I expect future me to know what I’m on about.

youtube-logo-2014-100449570-large

My favourite part of the process is editing. Sure, filming is okay. I’m still getting used to the idea of sitting and talking to myself for long periods of time, and I ramble a lot if I don’t have a solid plan. Editing, though, means I get to cut all that waffle out. I make myself look very coherent and casual, which is not at all how I come across in the rough copy. I don’t do much editing in terms of lighting and filters etc, but it’s handy to know that when the sun is flickering through and ruining my great shot, I can get rid of it when I sit down at my computer. Adding music is always the final step for me, and it’s such a great feeling when I finally get to it. Once I’ve added the music, I feel like the whole video is pulled together. Plus, I MADE A THING! It’s not the same feeling you get when you write a blog post, because so much more work goes into it. Also, it’s so new for me, it’s a much bigger achievement.3n2XiLYa.jpg

Another great thing about my channel is that I can be completely me. Blogging is a lot more controlled, and at least in my case, I talk about things instead of myself. On my channel I make a mistake, laugh at myself, and let everyone else laugh at me too. I could never do that on my blog! I’m being me, and every subscriber I get is subscribing because they like me, not just because they like the books I review. To be a YouTuber you have to have so much self confidence, and while I don’t have that at all, every thumbs up makes it grow a little bit.

Do you have a channel? Or do you have a different creative outlet? Tell me all about it! You can find me on Twitter, Goodreads, Instagram, Bookstagram, YouTube, and of course my blog!

Author: Em is Lost

I'm a teenage blogger who loves adventure and the great outdoors. I enjoy blogging about a range of topics including scouting, politics, feminism, world affairs and the life of a teenager in general.

1 thought on “//I Love – by Victoria//”

  1. I’m definitely checking out your channel, Victoria! 🙂 I technically have a channel, for my blog, but it’s not really… I don’t even know. It’s just me rambling, basically.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

