//The Amsterdam Book Tag//

The awesome Michelle from The Writing Hufflepuff created The Amsterdam Book Tag and, although I am not a book blogger myself, I do love to read books so was excited to take part!

Why Do We Have So Many Cheese Stores In One Street: A Cheesy Read.

Although I don’t tend to pick up a book that I think will be cheesy (okay I love cheese but cheesy books aren’t really my thing (anymore)), I admit I did read the Gallagher Girls series a few years ago and found that to be quite cheesy (especially the romance) – I think I only read the first four books which I enjoyed at the time but it’s not something I’d read now.

Canal Parade: A Book That Celebrates The LGBT Community.

Okay so I haven’t *technically* read any books specifically with an LGBT theme which I REALLY. NEED. TO. CHANGE. But if you read my post about discovering sexuality a few months ago, you’ll know that (argh I don’t know what I’m trying to say/how to word it) basically I haven’t been interested in (?)/ involved with sexuality and the LGBT community for an overly long time so haven’t had the chance to explore the world of LGBT in fiction (but I definitely want to so if anyone has any recommendations I’d be grateful)! However whilst doing some research earlier I discovered that Albus Dumbledore was gay and fell in love with Gellert Grindelwald (I feel like a bad Potterhead for not spotting this whilst reading the books) so although that is a tenuous link, I’ll have to go with the Harry Potter Series for now. 🙂

Anne Frank House: A Book That Made You Cry.

I have to say I don’t think I’ve ever full-on cried whilst reading a book (although there have been times where I’ve been VERY CLOSE to crying *cough cough* CURSED CHILD!!) but I’ve definitely cried internally a lot of times whilst reading. I’m going to have to go with The Book Thief because there is just a whole lot of sadness in that book (it is still one of my favourite books though so don’t let he sadness put you off).

Red White Blue: Recreate The Dutch Flag Using Books.

img_20160814_170951.jpg

The stripes are different thicknesses but I love all three of these books so wanted to use them!

Museum Square: An Artsy Book.

20160725_172310.jpg
I even took an artsy photo of the book to make it even more eligible for this category (ok I took this for another blog post but still)

I haven’t read any fictional artsy books (at least I don’t think I have *glares at bookcase to try to find an artsy book* – my memory is really bad when it comes to books and remembering things) so I’ll go with LEGO Harry Potter: Building The Magical World. It’s basically a timeline of the development of LEGO Harry Potter and also explains how they come up with the designs for the LEGO sets and ‘build the magical world’, as well as how they made the video games so it’s kind of artsy, right?

Pigeons, Pigeons Everywhere: An Annoying Character.

I have to say there is probably at least one character in every book I’ve read that annoys me – which I suppose is a sign of good writing on the authors part as they can portray there characters in a way that makes the readers dislike them, which is probably harder than it is to get readers to like characters. I’m going to go with Ender’s Game though as I didn’t feel as if I could connect to any of the characters really and just found most of them relatively annoying.

I’m tagging:

Kira, ZinebElly and Janet. 🙂

Author: Em is Lost

I'm a teenage blogger who loves adventure and the great outdoors. I enjoy blogging about a range of topics including scouting, politics, feminism, world affairs and the life of a teenager in general.

15 thoughts on “//The Amsterdam Book Tag//”

  1. This is such a cute tag! Every time I see Cursed Child mentioned somewhere I just get reminded of the painful fact that I don’t have it yet…For LGBTQ books, Simon vs the Homo Sapien Agenda and Carry On are the best ones I’ve read. However, like you I haven’t read nearly enough, so I’ll keep you updated if I find more

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for tagging me, Em! We definitely have one thing in common, my memory is bad when it comes to remembering books and some of the things that happen in them. I remember feeling terrible at first but then I realized that there are so many who struggle with it too haha!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

