//8 Muggle Struggles and How To Survive Them//


Everyone wishes they were a witch/wizard right? Well, I certainly do! I have been waiting a loooong time for my Hogwarts letter and still haven’t got one *sigh* so I guess that means I really am just a muggle *sobs*.
Obviously there are many downsides of not being a ‘magical folk’ so I thought I’d talk you through them today with a few tips to help you survive being a muggle.

#1: The distinct lack of butterbeer in the muggle world. I mean, who WOULDN’T want to walk down the street and grab a butterbeer on their way to work/school!?!?

Sadly, there are not nearly enough places to get butterbeer in the UK as there should be *more sobs*. If you are lucky enough to go to The Making of Harry Potter in London or even Universal Studios in Orlando, however, by all means you can drink butterbeer to your hearts content! If not, you can still try out butterbeer – there are plenty of recipes you can find online and make at home (although no guarantees they will be as nice as the ACTUAL thing).

#2: Our schools are nowhere near as cool as Hogwarts. I think governments should take note of this – I mean, if every school looked as magnificent and exciting as Hogwarts, no one would ever want to skive school again (unless, of course, they’re idiots). Seriously though, it would be so cool to go to a school that looked like Hogwarts. I don’t know about you but I think schools these days tend to look a bit more like prisons than places you go to be educated.

Although there are (sadly) no real-life schools that I know of that resemble Hogwarts, Oxford University DOES have a very Hogwarts-y feel about it and is well worth visiting so you can just stand there and daydream about ACTUALLY being at Hogwarts. PLUS the Great Hall at Hogwarts is based on the dining hall at Christ Church college, Oxford which is even more proof that Oxford is practically Hogwarts. Aside from Oxford, there are plenty of places around the UK that were used for filming interior and exterior scenes of Hogwarts – one of which is Lacock Abbey in Wiltshire which I was lucky enough to visit some time ago. It was used for the ‘corridor’ scenes in the films and when you go there it really DOES feel like you are inside Hogwarts.

laycock abby april 2010 (35)
The corridors at Lacock.
laycock abby april 2010 (33)
Courtyard/corridors – IT LOOKS SO MUCH LIKE HOGWARTS OMG.

Part of Oxford University, unfortunately I didn’t get to visit Christ Church when I went there a few weeks ago.

#3: Our school subjects are so boring compared to those at Hogwarts. On the subject of schools, it can’t be forgotten that students at Hogwarts get to study a wide variety of ‘magical’ subjects – potions, care of magical creatures, charms, fence against the dark arts etc – whilst us muggles are stuck doing maths, English, geography and the like.
Whilst educational reforms to include these subjects in the curriculum would be completely out of the question, it would still be nice if we could study these subjects outside of school. And guess what? You can! Well, kind of. I mean, the Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them text book which Hogwarts students use in their Care of Magical Creatures class is available in muggle bookshops and libraries (I’m glad they decided to publish this one and not The Monster Book of Monsters *gulp*) so at least we can experience a bit of what it would be like to study a magical subject. On top of that, you can do GCSE Astronomy in the UK (which I wish I’d known when I was choosing my GCSEs) although I’m not sure how many schools would actually offer that to you, you’d probably have to self-teach it but STILL.

#4: Our lack of magical ability.This is probably one of the worst things about being a muggle. I mean, if I had magic, I wouldn’t have to get out of bed to turn off the light, I could ‘accio‘ pretty much anything I wanted to and wouldn’t have to stand on the doorstep trying (and failing) to unlock my front door everyday (I’m rubbish at using keys). PLUS we could have our own wands which would be THE BEST thing ever.

As far as casting spells and actually performing magic goes, there isn’t really a muggle solution. BUT with the help of Pottermore, you can find out what your own, personalised wand would be like and even be sorted into a Hogwarts house. Alternatively, there are many places where you can buy the characters wands and there are various sites on the internet that act as ‘wandmakers’ and make custom wands for people. SO even if you can’t actually perform magic, as a muggle you can still have a wand!

#5: Quidditch!!!!! Wouldn’t it be amazing to be able to play Quidditch? Like, instead of doing hockey or netball or football or whatever in sport at school, you could play Quidditch instead?!?!?! I, personally, think I would be rubbish at Quidditch because I’m not a very coordinated person BUT Quidditch does sound like a really fun game (or painful if you happen to be a ‘Keeper’). Also, I feel like Quidditch would be a sport I could ACTUALLY get into – the matches are full of action and fast-paced so even just watching Quidditch would great. The Quidditch World Cup would be SO amazing to watch and support your national team, wouldn’t it????

Considering were all muggles ‘ere (excuse me whilst for being a bit West Country), we can’t actually fly  😦 BUT there are many universities in the UK (and probably abroad too) that have Quidditch societies where you can actually play Quidditch in a league against other university teams. Obviously it differs somewhat to the real game (in part due to our non-flying abilities) but the basic principles are still there!

#6: Why aren’t muggle Invisibility Cloaks a thing??? I mean, I KNOW decent ones are somewhat rare even in the wizarding world, but there have been many times where I wished I could have just had an Invisibility Cloak to hide from certain people you don’t want to bump into in the street or to just sneak around, unnoticed and unbothered by other people. Plus they could help you out of awkward situations too. Basically they just NEED to be a thing.

Sadly there isn’t much a muggle can do to make up for the lack of Invisibility Cloaks in our world, aside from hoping that the ground will just swallow you up in awkward situations and that hiding behind trees and lamp posts will help you be stealthy and move around without being seen.

#7: We can’t buy Extendable Ears. Not that I like to spy on people, let’s just clear that up, but you have to admit Extendable Ears WOULD be quite useful. I mean, you could hear far-away sounds without having to move an inch – they are the ultimate tool for laziness (aside from the summoning charm obviously). To be honest I think all of the Weasleys’ Wizarding Wheezes products in general would be very useful in everyday life

You CAN infact visit a Weasleys’ Wizarding Wheezes store at the Universal Studios in Orlando but that is so far away from here so I’ll just have to make do with putting empty cups against walls to try and hear through them.

#8: Our inability to apparate and use the Floo Network/Portkeys. If we could make use of magical modes of transport, it would be SO MUCH EASIER to travel everywhere. Not to mention it would be free. We could visit our internet friends whenever we liked, without even having to pay for a train or bus ticket. No place would be too far away and we wouldn’t have to deal with the horror that is public transport. I think this is probably the thing I wish I could do most as a muggle because I love to travel and I’d love to meet up with my internet friends easily.

WARNING: you might want to grab some tissues before you read what I’m about to write.

There is no solution to this. There is no muggle-way of getting round the fact that we can’t apparate or use Portkeys and the Floo Network. *Hysterical sobbing*. We’ll all just have to put up with being stuck on cramped trains and unreliable buses like the muggles we are. 😦

And on that note, that concludes my guide to ‘Muggle Struggles and How To Survive Them’. I hope you enjoyed reading this as much as I loved writing it! 🙂


Quick reminder: You have until the next Sunday, 31st July (which also happens to be Harry Potter’s birthday) to send in your contributions to the Finding Our Feet Project if you would like to participate!
 

Author: Em is Lost

I'm a teenage blogger who loves adventure and the great outdoors. I enjoy blogging about a range of topics including scouting, politics, feminism, world affairs and the life of a teenager in general.

26 thoughts on “//8 Muggle Struggles and How To Survive Them//”

  1. Can we make #mugglestruggles into a hashtag? Because that would be an AWESOME hashtag. Anyways: THIS IS 100% MY KIND OF POST. So much awesomeness! I definitely wish our schools were more like Hogwarts — I mean, even if they modelled it more on a practical-based thing. And not an Umbridge-style Exams Exams Exams thing. *coughs and remembers that time I wrote an entire post comparing the education system to the Wizarding one* And although Quidditch would be AWESOME — hello, flying, and also non-gendered teams hurrah — I’d be terrible at it in real life because I CANNOT throw or catch one handed. I was actually extremely sad to miss a Quidditch match (!!) in my local park the other day. I SHALL BE VISITING ONE IN THE FUTURE. Fabulous post as usual, and if I haven’t told you yet (?) I love your new theme!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES WE SHOULD, THAT WOULD BE AMAZING. Yeah I agree! Haha, I need to go read that post! Same! Plus staying on the broom would be a bit of a #mugglestruggle. What!?!?! That’s awesome but sad that you missed it. Thank you! I can’t remember if you told me but thanks anyway! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I actually have been secretly praying I have a magical ability of some what for sooooooooo long now that i can relate really really hard and to sadly say I haven’t received my letter either 😦 -Liss

    Liked by 1 person

  3. YES TO ALL OF THESE. When I need to grab something but it’s too far away so I’ll have to move and when I have/want to travel I’m especially sad that I’m not a witch. I hate public transport and I’m not good with flying, so I really want to just use Floo Powder or a Portkey. And the first thing just because I’m lazy XD But seriously all of theeeese. Why can’t we be witches 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh my word, I’ve been considering Oxford as a school, as this confirms everything. THIS IS FATE. Lovely post!!! And Ikr, being a muggle is so stinking hard. (Even though technically I’m American so I should be saying “No-Maj” but who the HECK wants to be THAT? I mean, if I can’t be a witch, I’m dang well going to be a muggle.)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I want to try Butterbeer so badly! And I’m definitely going to Oxford now, it looks amazing. I’ve already paid for part of my uni, but I’ll just have to explain to them how important it is that I go to Oxford! Because it’s vital. VITAL, I tell you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sameee, I made some butterbeer over the summer but I want to know if it tastes like the Actual Thing. And yes you MUST go to Oxford IMMEDIATELY – you can use me as a reference if you like 😉 I’ll borrow some psychic paper from Doctor Who and they will 100% believe what I have to say 😂😂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

