//How to host the perfect Eurovision party!!!//

In case you’ve been living under a rock or the past few weeks, this weekend was the final of the Eurovision Song Contest. As you may know, us Europeans (and Australian’s who also take part in Eurovision) take Eurovision very seriously so it only seems natural to want to celebrate in style with a Eurovision themed party.

This is the first year me and my family have had a ‘proper’ Eurovision party and it surprisingly went really well so I thought I’d share my tips with you.

1. Pre-Eurovision preparation:

Considering the UK has a track record of being rather cheesy and unsuccessful at Eurovision, we decided that this year we weren’t going to support our national act (you would too if you were British, trust meΒ πŸ˜‚) and decided to shake it up a bit by each randomly drawing one country from each of the semi-finals which took place on Tuesday and Thursday (I suggest you do this before the actual day of the final to give people enough time to get ready). I drew Malta and Belgium and hence set about listening to their songs and praying that I’d actually picked countries with decent songs and, thankfully, both songs were fairly good.

 

2. Guests:

If you’re going to invite guests, make sure you let them pick out countries to support too or pick them on behalf of them.

3. Flags:

Flags are essential to Eurovision – what else are you going to wave around when you’re favourite song comes on? This year we ran out of time to make proper flags, although we did make some small flags to decorate the table which you will see later on. You don’t even have to go out and buy flags, you can make them yourself too – whatever works!

 

4. Food:

20160514_185220.jpg
Our Eurovision feast!

As well as supporting the countries we drew at random during the contest, we decided to base our food/snacks around those countries too and tried to include a snack from each of the countries we were supporting plus a few extra. Here is what we made:

Malta – Maltese Almond Biscuits (which are VERY easy to make and absolutely delicious – this was my contribution):

20160514_1832441.jpg
Not the best photo but LOOK HOW CUTE THE MALTA FLAG LOOKS!!

Belgium – potato waffles (ok so not strictly Flemish but if we bought Belgian waffles we would have too many sweet snacks so potato waffles were the only alternative! This was also my contribution).

Russia –Β Russian Tea Cakes (they were very nice and had walnuts and almonds in I think, either way they were lovely and we’ll be definitely making them again some time)

20160514_182335.jpg
AGAIN WITH THE CUTE FLAGS!!!

Spain –Β for Spain we had tortilla chips and a salsa dip which I’m not really sure is Spanish or Mexican but either way they were awesome! But I couldn’t get a photo because they were hiding at the back of the table.Β πŸ˜‚

Greece –Β Greece didn’t even make it to the final, I know, but we still bought some Greek food because why not? (or at least I think it is Greek…it’s all Greek to me). We had falafels and some lamb and chicken thing (I think they were called Koftas but not entirely sure).

20160514_185143.jpg
This picture is just amazing quality…ANOTHER FLAG YAY! (I have no idea why I find these flags cute, I just do ok)!

Italy –this is kind of a mixture of Italy and France because we had French bread pizza.20160514_185209.jpg

France –Β bread sticks (not sure if they are really French but just go with it).20160514_185156.jpg

Germany –Β pretzels which are also shown in the picture above.

SwitzerlandΒ – Toblerone (of course) even though Switzerland didn’t get through to the final (I could be wrong, I just don’t remember them).

Eastern Europe –Β we managed to draw a lot of Eastern European countries (or just countries we couldn’t find any recipe’s for) – Armenia, Lithuania, Azerbaijan, Croatia, Latvia etc so we just grouped them all together and made Potato Latke (which I think is actually Russian but oh well). They took a lot of preparation before you couold actually cook them but the end result was worth it! We ate them with sour cream and apple sauce which made them even nicer.Β 20160514_182208.jpg

20160514_185135.jpg
AGAIN THE FLAGS LOOK SO CUTE!!

5. Pre-final entertainment:

I always wonder why the BBC never does a pre-Eurovision show or a Eurovision countdown show because I always end up sitting around and waiting for ages for the show to ACTUALLY start. This year, however, we put on a bit of Abba (who if you read my post about seeing Mamma Mia the Musical, you’ll know I absolutely love) and had a good ol’ chat.

6. WATCHING THE SHOW!!!!

Obviously this is going to be the best bit of the Eurovision party so find somewhere comfy, switch the TV on and sit back and enjoy the show! (Try not to get too stressed out during the results though although I was literally clinging to the edge of my seat yesterday because the new voting system is SO TENSE ARGHHH).

Hope you all had a lovely weekend and enjoyed watching Eurovision – I certainly did although I’m still annoyed the Netherlands (my favourites) didn’t win. BUT OMG THE UK GOT POINTS!!!! LIKE ACTUAL POINTS!!!!! YAYAYAYAY!!!

This might be my last blog post for a while because my exams start tomorrow so I’ll probably be too busy revising and stressing to blog much. but good luck to everyone else doing exams at the moment – you can do this!!! πŸ™‚

P.S. The featured image does not belong to me.

Author: Em is Lost

I'm a teenage blogger who loves adventure and the great outdoors. I enjoy blogging about a range of topics including scouting, politics, feminism, world affairs and the life of a teenager in general.

33 thoughts on “//How to host the perfect Eurovision party!!!//”

  1. WOAH THIS IS SO ORGANISED. Sadly none of my friends watch Eurovision, so I can’t have a party with them! But I live in hope. I was pretty unprepared this year and we just watched it whilst eating chocolate, but next year I’d love to try and make some themed food.
    YES WE GOT ACTUAL POINTS WOW?!? I actually really liked the new voting system. Otherwise I’d probably be a bit more disappointed by our usual terrible performance. πŸ˜› Good luck with your revision and exams!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha! Aww that’s a shame! Mine don’t really either so I just partied with my family. YES THERE IS ALWAYS HOPE!! I guess that’s one advantage of the new system – at least now we know it’s the public who hate us not the juries, haha. Thank youuuu, hope you still enjoyed Eurovision! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is such a cool idea! I love watching Eurovision and I was also slightly disappointed by the fact that a lot of countries didn’t gave the Netherlands more points! Next year I might make the food too, it looks so nice!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. THIS IS SUCH A GREAT POST!!! I am such a big eurovision fan and all of your food to do with the different counties with flags in them are so great. Can I come to your party next year??? Gutted the UK came 24th but what can we expect, we do badly every year, I wish we actually did well for once (that may never happen again). Good luck in your exams, mine start this Tuesday! I should be revising right now… oops. – Jess xx

    Liked by 2 people

    1. THANK YOU!! I’d love it if everyone could come, haha πŸ˜‚ Yeah but we got a lot more points than last year, even if we finished in the same place. I’m just praying we’ll send someone decent next year! Thank you and good luck to you to! Are you not doing the RS exam tomorrow then?

      Liked by 2 people

      1. No, mine is on Wednesday. I’m actually quite confident about it. Good luck for your RS exam!! We better send someone good next year, it would be so great if we got onto the left hand side of the leader board, let alone first! I’m so looking forward to it next year. x

        Liked by 2 people

        1. Ahh same, RS isn’t too bad I guess just sometikes the questions are worderd oddly. Good luck for then and French on Tuesday I’m guessing? I’m actually looking forward to the French exam πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚Yeah, we were on the left hand side for like 30 seconds this year, lets hope we can stay there next year πŸ˜‚

          Liked by 2 people

            1. Ah that’s odd, I always thought exams were on the same day for the same subjects but obviously not! Yeah I agree the listening is definitely worse but once I’ve done the French exams I have any extra 3 hours to revise a week so I guess that’s good! x

              Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi that’s awesome!! YASS HE WAS BUT ALSO THE NETHERLANDS GUY WHO I MAY HAVE A TINY, WEENY CRUSH ON….yeah I agree Ukraine’s was a bit creepy but even though it wasn’t the best song, there were plenty that were worse!

      Liked by 2 people

            1. Haha, I’ve been doing the same with the Netherlands guy – Douwe Bob – he is just so cuteeeee I can’t stop listening to his music…I think I have some weird kind of addiction πŸ˜‚

              Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

