//I have told the truth//

I have told the truth, the biggest, most secretive truth there is to tell. In case you didn’t know, I blog secretly meaning that no one in real life knows about me blogging and having internet friends and whatnot. BUT today I told my biggest secret. To my mum. Why? Because she recently said to me and my sister (just generally in a family conversation around the dinner table) that she trusts that me and my sister aren’t doing anything ‘dangerous’ or ‘risky’ on the internet and I suddenly had this overwhelming fear (especially after I video called some blogging friends on Saturday behind her backs – it was awesome though and omg everyone was sooooo lovely) that I wad misusing this trust by doing all of this behind her back.

So, therefore, I felt as if I needed to tell her in order to get rid of my guilty conscience. I wasn’t brave enough to actually explain it all to her face – because that would just be plain awkward – so I wrote it down and made her read it.

After tears (from both of us, not really sure why) she said that she thought it was lovely that I had made friends all across the world. Obviously she started asking a lot of questions about whether I was being safe online and whatnot – which was awkward – and then she was asking about my friends and that – which was awkwarder – but I think she was ok with it all? It seemed that way anyway! And now I feel like a weight has been lifted off of my shoulders.

Now, however, I just have to tell my dad. I don’t really know how – my mum said she might tell him but I don’t really know. To be honest I don’t think my dad would really understand but hey ho you never know! My mum didn’t really understand either to be honest – she thought blogging was what people did on Twitter and that each blog post could only be up to 140 characters long πŸ˜‚. But at least because she doesn’t understand the concept of blogging, she doesn’t even know that blogs have urls so hence hasn’t asked what mine is so she can read it.

So I would say that today was fairly successful! Now I’m just getting nervous about telling my dad/my mum telling my dad because I can hear them talking downstairs but I don’t know what about!?! Arghhh, anyway I hope it goes fine, I’ll let you know later!

The point is, if you want to tell your family, friends WHOEVER about your blog, just go for it. It’s taken me over a year to pluck up the courage to tell my mum and although she said ‘I wish you told me at the beginning’, telling them sooner rather than later will always be easier as otherwise (like me) the secret will just keep growing and growing until it’s so huge and takes up such a big part of your life that it’s stressing you out to keep the secret for fear that you’ll suddenly burst it all out the second anyone mentions ‘internet’.

So, hope you’ve all had a nice day and good luck to anyone who wants to tell their parents about blogging – you can do this! πŸ™‚

Author: Em is Lost

I'm a teenage blogger who loves adventure and the great outdoors. I enjoy blogging about a range of topics including scouting, politics, feminism, world affairs and the life of a teenager in general.

15 thoughts on “//I have told the truth//”

  1. I plucked up the courage to tell my mum about my blog quite a while ago now and I think she liked the idea of me running a blog but when i told my dad he was just like “what do write about then?”, I haven’t mentioned anything since. I hope you do get an opportunity to tell your dad, I’m sure he will be supportive and well done on telling your mum. None of my friends know but I might tell them one day! Would love to know what happens next! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oooh that’s good! I think my mum doesn’t really understand what blogging is but she thinks it’s cool for me to have online friends so I guess that’s good! My dad would probably say that too tbh, I haven’t told him yet and I’m not sure when I will! I’ll keep you all informed and thank you! xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. AHH, I’m so happy for you! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I remember how great it felt to tell my mom a couple months ago and I am so happy I did. I feel like, as you said, it was a huge weight lifted off my shoulders. I hope all goes well with your dad ( I still haven’t told mine ).
    -Dani πŸ™‚ ❀

    Like

        1. True! Although she did say yesterday that she wanted to see my blog as she’s never seen one before and wanted to know what they looked like but I’ve managed to avoid showing her so far!

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

