//The calm before the storm//

image

So today marks exactly a month until my first exam *gulp*. As far as revision is concerned, I am managing to stick to my timetable although some things are going better than others.

Maths – I have kind of hit a slump in my maths revision to be honest. I’m still sticking to my timetable and doing everything I planned to do, but I’m not putting much effort into it – I have no motivation to do maths right now. Probably because before the spring holidays I did a maths mock exam and got a really good grade so now I’m still kinda on a high from that I guess and don’t feel like working that hard (which isn’t a good state of mind to be in this close to exams). However I am not overly concerned because I go back to school on Monday and from then on I will be doing 4 hours of maths lessons a week as well as 4 hours of maths revision before and after school on top of what I am doing at home so hopefully that will be enough to get me through.

English – oh my gosh English is stressing me out SO MUCH. Mainly because the exam is in 5 weeks and I have noe clue what to do. We have only just started learning about our English Literature exam at school because we’ve spent the rest of the year focusing on English Language and our English Lit coursework. I know that the literature exam has two sections – one on unseen poetry and one on A View from the Bridge, which is the play I studied, but I have no idea how to actually answer the questions! The poetry question is worth 35 marks so is basically a mini-essay and we have been given this method of structuring our answers at school but I’m really struggling with it. Plus I have written about 5 practice answers for the poetry question and every time I have used a different structure (unintentionally, that’s just how it turned out) but because we had a mini swine flu epidemic in the South West last month, my teacher was off sick for ages and hasn’t had time to give me feedback, so I have no idea if what I am doing is right! As for the A View from the Bridge section, I have absolutely no clue whatsoever and that question is worth 40/45 marks so it’s more important! We haven’t practiced this question at all at school so all I can do revision-wise is re-read the play and note down key quotes (which I have done and still don’t feel prepared).

Science – surprisingly – as science is my worst subject – I am feeling pretty confident with science at the moment. For my science revision I highlight key facts in the revision guides, then put the facts on to a mind-map, then make flashcards with the facts on and answer the questions in the work book for each unit (of which there are 18 because I do triple science). It is a pretty time-consuming process as you can see but I feel like I have a pretty thorough approach to revising science and I really think layered revision is the key to doing well (although I have no idea why I don’t apply these techniques to other subjects). I do need to start using the flashcards more regualarly though but I tend to find them more effective as a kind of last-minute revision review for like the week before the exam so I can re-revise anything I have forgotten. Plus last night I actually dreamt about how metals conduct electiricty which is weird but it does prove my science reivison is working at least!

RE/RS – RE is actually my first exam so is the one that is in exactly one months time from today and I only started revising for it last week! However I find RE quite easy as there is hardly any content compared to other subjects, so therefore it doesn’t take that long to revise. I have actually revised half of RE already in just two weeks but I planned that so I could spend the rest of the time practice exam technique and questions. I am so thankful I have at least one subject that I don’t have to stress over!

French – I don’t really know how well French is going to be honest, I mean, since September we have been doing an exam per week in class and I was doing well in those exams before I even started revising. Apparently languages is my ‘natural talent’ which is probably why I enjoy French so much. For revision I am basically doing an online French course on Duolingo – the more words I learn, the better, right? I am 53% of the way through and by now I hoped to be more like 75% of the way through – I underestimated how time-consuming it would be basically. However I am still feeling fairly confident with French because I am still getting good grades in our weekly tests, so I must be doing something right.

Politics – politics is actually an AS Level not a GCSE because last year I took my Geography and History exams so had an extra 6 hours a week to fill, and hence ended up doing politics. I am really enjoying it but there is soooo much content to learn compared to GCSEs…I guess it is a good taster for what it will be like when I start college in September though. My politics revision is going ok-ish. I mean, I have made all the flashcards I need but I’m struggling to actually learn the flashcards – it takes like 3 hours to learn one topic (and there are six) and then I have to practice them everyday or else I forget. I have only learnt one topic so far and I’m going to try to learn another topic later so it’s less pressure for when I go back to school. The thing is with politics though, there are 8 topics in total and in each exam we are given questions on 4 of the topics and have to select two topics to actually answer. Therefore I decided to only revise 3 topics for each exam so if my favourite two topics have hard questions, I have a back up. But it’s been really hard to decide which topics not to revise and I feel like I’ve made the wrong choice but it’s too late now! Part of me wants to go and cram the other two topics because it doesn’t feel right not revising everything. Plus when I did the politics mock exam a few weeks back, I only revised two out of the four topics but ended up answering the topics I didn’t revise for, but still got an A!? So I’m a little confused about politics…

So that’s how my revision is going so far! I don’t really know what made me write this today, I guess it’s because revision is pretty much always on my mind. I don’t really know how active I’m going to be on my blog over the next few months. Hopefully I’ll still be posting a couple of times a week but I have no idea how well I’m going to cope with the stress of revising for like 3 hours a day as well as going to school or whether I’ll actually have time to get something decent typed up! So for now, good luck with your revision and exams everyone! šŸ™‚

Author: Em is Lost

I'm a teenage blogger who loves adventure and the great outdoors. I enjoy blogging about a range of topics including scouting, politics, feminism, world affairs and the life of a teenager in general.

10 thoughts on “//The calm before the storm//”

  1. Oh no, French is exactly one month today. I haven’t even finished B1 in biology let alone 2 and 3. I just can’t find a way to revise in which I remember what I’ve just read. I probably need to go and do some now. help me. x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, my French is a month today too. Science takes sooo loooong. Have you tried making flashcards with keywords/facts on? I find that the most useful because then you can get people to test you on them whenever and it doesn’t take that long. Good luck! xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

