//Finding out what you’re called and repeating your name//

image
Sunset last weekend.

Okay so I’ve been listening to Kaiser Chiefs on repeat whilst eating roast dinner – what more could you want? – and all their lyrics are just SO relatable and omg…I just can’t even put how amazing their music is into words.

I know I said that twenty one pilots have really relatable lyrics last week when I wrote about my music taste but so are Kaiser Cheifs…and James Bay and Vance Joy and EVERYONE ELSES.

Anyway, the song ‘Ruby’ – which I’m sure you all would have heard, if not you should definitely go listen to it on Youtube – got me thinking about names. Specifically this line:

Finding out what you’re called and repeating your name. – Kaiser Chiefs, Ruby

I started thinking about how we associate names with personalities. I know it sounds weird, but I always think about whether names ‘suit’ someones personality when I first meet them. It’s hard to describe but I guess we associate certain personality  with certain people and therefore their names so when we think of said name, we think about those people and what type of people they are. Therefore when you meet someone new and leaen their name, you automatically connect that name with the people you already know who are called that and compare of this new persons personality is similar to that of the original person you knew with that name and subsequently determine if the new persons ‘suits’ their name depending on whether they habe these ‘traits’ that we associate with the name.

God, that was confusing to explain. Let me break it down a bit:
Say you know someone who is called….Bob for example. Now, Bob is a quiet, reserved person who keeps himself to himself most of the time and doesn’t like to put himself in the centre of attention. After knowing Bob for quite a long period of time, you then meet someone new who tells you their name is also Bob (Bob no. 2 for the purpose of this frankly pointless explanation). Bob no. 2, on the other hand, comes across as a very outgoing person and is quite loud and vocal. But the Bob you have always known is the complete opposite so therefore it seems odd to you that someone who is so different can also be called Bob. Therefore in your mind this person doesnt suit the name Bob because he has completely different characteristics to what you would associate with the name Bob.

Does that make more sense now? Probably not…no one cares anyway, Em, this is just another one of your pointless rambles. I know, I know, give me a break, ok? I have to let the weirdness out somehow or I’ll drive myself crazy. You already am though Em, hence why you are writing a conversation between the sane (very small) part of your brain and the insane part. SHUT UP!

Sorry I don’t know what that whole thing there was.

Anyway, back to the name suiting thingy. Does anyone else ever think peoples names don’t suit them? I sometimes don’t think my own name suits me because my name is pretty commom so there are a lot of people at my school with the same name who are all COMPLETELY DIFFERENT to me so sometimes I feel like this name doesn’t suit me because I associate it with them.

How did I get this from ONE SONG LYRIC? I honestly have no idea. I could probably go one for hours though. I should probably end here…

Aside from listening to Kaiser Chiefs, I’ve had a pretty boring weekend. I was supposed to be going to Reading yesterday but I felt like crap so I gave that a miss although I wish I had have gone because my dad and sister went and apparently it SNOWED on the motorway on the way there. And I haven’t seen a single snowflake this winter. 😦

I haven’t really done much today either. We don’t celebrate mothers day so instead we get gifts and cards for my grandmother as she lives alone and we are the only relatives she sees regularly.

I feel l’ve been so lazy this weekend. I usually cycle 4 or 5 miles every Saturday morning but I didn’t becuase like I said I wasn’t feeling too great. Also I’m pretty sure I’ve got a tonne of homework due in next week but I just kind of ‘forgot’ to do it…

I can’t even remember half of it and I don’t really care about it anyway. I don’t have time to do French crosswords and science wordsearches now I’ve started revising for my exams in the summer. It’s hard enough trying to stick to my revision plan let alone fit in homework and mock exams.

Ugh…school really sucks.

Anyway, thanks for reading. I better go now because Call the Midwife starts in like…5 minutes and it’s the series finale so my family will get cross if I keep them waiting any longer!

Bye! πŸ™‚

Author: Em is Lost

I'm a teenage blogger who loves adventure and the great outdoors. I enjoy blogging about a range of topics including scouting, politics, feminism, world affairs and the life of a teenager in general.

3 thoughts on “//Finding out what you’re called and repeating your name//”

  1. Aww hope you’re feeling better and good luck with all your schoolwork! I know what you mean with names suiting people. Also I love that you used Bob as an example since that’s my grandfather’s name haha. I hadn’t heard of Kaiser Chefs before this but I’m definitely going to listen to them! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks same to you! I’m still not feeling too great but I’m sure I will do soon. Haha, Bob’s such an awesome name! You should definitely listen to them, especially their album ‘Souvenir’. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

