//Lace, heels and sparkles//

Okay, so this is my SECOND blog post today! You must all feel like the luckiest people alive (aha…jk). Now, if you read my post earlier (which you can find here if you haven’t), you’ll know that I’m not a very ‘girly’ girl. You’ll also know how much I hate stereotypes so will understand how much it pains me to have to write the words: ‘girly girl’ but…it’s the easiest way to explain it I guess. Basically, I am not the type of girl who likes dressing up in, well, dresses or likes to wear a lot of make-up and make myself look ‘pretty’.

BUT – and this is a big but – I have decided that I want to go to my end of school prom in June. Yeah, i know right? ME wearing A DRESS? As you can tell, this is something totally new to me so I’m feeling a little nervous but also very excited. I thought, considering prom will be the last time I will see most of my school friends, (*insert hysterical weeping here*…I won’t miss ALL of my classmates though, just the decent ones) AND there will be food and music and food and dancing and food, it would be good fun to try it out.

I know, I know, prom is ages away (23rd June to be exact – also the day of the UKs EU referendum if you are wondering) but I couldn’t resist! I guess I just love to be organised so I kinda, maybe, already bought everything…like two months ago.

Actually, I started looking for dresses back in June last year (according to Facebook messenger because I sent my friend a picture of the exact dress I ended up buying in June sometime…oops).

Anyway, I ordered the dress online from Amazon for only £41.99 which I though was pretty decent. AND it had free delivery and returns. The dress only took like 3-4 days to come and it had this online tracking thingy so you could see where it was and guess what? It came from BERLIN a.k.a my absolute-favourite-city-in-the-whole-world-which-I-am-completely-in-love-with. So now I am even more in love with the dress!

Here is the dress on as pictured on Amazon (that’s not me by the way) and you can click here to go to the Amazon page if you too have fallen in love with this dress (and no, I have NOT been paid or asked by the company to advertise them, I am just a customer reviewing one of their dresses but I do recommend the company as they have a large range of beautiful prom dresses that are fairly cheap):

Screen Shot 03-05-16 at 12.04 PM.PNG

And then here are my rather terrible photos of the dress (I found out when I did a Primark haul on my old blog that I am absolutely awful at photographing clothing, so bare with me):

 

20160305_112729
Yes, this IS me. Excuse all the stuff in the background.

 

20160305_113418
Close-up of the lace detailing.

Going along with the navy-theme, I also purchased some heels (I know, another surprise, right?) my friends are going to be so surprised when they find out I am actually wearing heels to prom! The heels were £24.99 I think which is a little more than I wanted to pay (considering they are over half the price of the dress) but they are good quality, comfortable and just what I was looking for. Plus they only have like a  2-inch heel which is perfect for me as I would undoubtedly twist my ankle or trip over wearing heels that were any taller:

To go with the dress and the shoes, I also have a small white clutch bag (is that what you call them?) that belongs to my grandma which I really like because it brings out the silver/white silk backing to the lace bodice (oooh technical dress terms which I will never use again in my life and admittedly had to google):

20160305_113846
See? It goes with the shoes too! 🙂
20160305_113920
Obviously I will take ANY opportunity to practice my photography skills.

The only things I haven’t bought yet is jewellery and make-up but I have found the jewellery I would like online, I just need to go in to town sometime and hope they have it in store:

12102410249_large

Bracelet – £9.00, earrings – £7.00.

73953

As far as make-up goes, I was thinking of just buying some mascara and go for a ‘neutral’ look, maybe some lipstick/gloss too. I’m not very good with make-up though, I mean, I can do winged-eyeliner occasionally but aside from that I don’t wear any other make-up.

The thing I am struggling with is hair at the moment. I just don’t know what to do with it. I’m going to do my own hair so i need to find something fairly simple but effective,  just have no idea! My hair is just passed shoulder-length and is unpredictably wavy. I also have a temperamental fringe and random layers so it’s hard to do anything other than braiding it. I was thinking about curling it so I had proper curls for once but then I’d have to go out and buy curling tongs/iron/wand/whatever the hell I’m supposed to call it. Then I thought about doing an up-do and found some simple-ish tutorials online but I haven’t had time to practice any yet.

This is one of the hairstyles I was thinking about:

hairstylesformediumhair13

Also this one as it’s pretty similar to the other one and might be easier to do:

hairstylesformediumhair8

Also this one but I don’t like it as much:

hairstylesformediumhair7

So as you can tell I’ve been trawling Pinterest for hair tutorials but I’ll have to wait until I try them out to see if I will actually wear my hair like that to prom. I’ll try to upload some pictures when I try them out later on I might just put them up on Twitter (@em_is_lost99) so I don’t have to write THREE posts in one day just to show you guys, so keep an eye out on Twitter!

So, my total amount of money spent on my outfit is/will be…….£82.98!!!

+ £50.00 for the prom ticket and about £10.00 for any make-up/hair accessories I might buy = £142.98

And this, everybody, is how to prom on a budget! I think that’s a fairly decent price compared to some people who have spent over £200.00 just on their dress!!!

Thanks for reading – hope you enjoyed something a bit different! Is anyone else going to prom this year? If so PLEASE tell me I’m not the only one getting prepared so early on! 🙂

Author: Em is Lost

I'm a teenage blogger who loves adventure and the great outdoors. I enjoy blogging about a range of topics including scouting, politics, feminism, world affairs and the life of a teenager in general.

2 thoughts on “//Lace, heels and sparkles//”

Leave a Reply

