//I am female too//

image

Just because I love the outdoors,
With it’s hilltops and coastlines and woodlands and moors,
And I love the fresh air and the blue sunny skies,
Especially the clouds that silently drift on by,
Doesn’t mean I not female.

Just because I love being a scout,
With our campfires and hiking and laughing about,
And I always go camping in rain, snow or sun,
Because I love being outdoors and having lots of fun,
Doesn’t mean I’m not female.

Just because I’d rather stay at home watching Doctor Who,
Than go out shopping or partying with strangers like you,
And because I love Harry Potter with all of my heart,
And from these beloved fandoms I never want to part,
Doesn’t mean I’m not female.

Just because I spend my time reading historical fiction,
And painting model airplanes to fit accurate descriptions,
And I love learning about battles and wars,
Despite all of the murder, violence and gore,
Doesn’t mean I’m not female.

Just because I’d rather be playing tennis or cricket,
And would die to have a twenty one pilots concert ticket,
And I spend my summer holidays supporting my local sports teams,
Becuase I’ll only ever be able to join them in my dreams,
Doesn’t mean I’m not female.

Just because I hardly ever wear skirts or dresses,
And live in jeans, hoodies and converses,
And because I’m not afraid of what others think I look like,
When I wear sporty clothes when I go cycling on my bike,
Doesn’t mean I’m not female.

Just because I don’t bother applying loads of make up,
On to my face as soon as I wake up,
And I don’t bother straightening my wavy, messy hair,
Because I like it the way it is and I really don’t care,
Doesn’t mean I’m not female.

Just because I’m not your typical teenage girl,
And I like to be different to the rest of the world,
And I don’t fit these stereotypes which will never go away,
Because from these restrictions I dared to stray,
And stand out from the crowd and be unique,
Because I don’t want to be part of this type of clique,
Doesn’t mean I am not female.

Em. 🙂

Author: Em is Lost

I'm a teenage blogger who loves adventure and the great outdoors. I enjoy blogging about a range of topics including scouting, politics, feminism, world affairs and the life of a teenager in general.

6 thoughts on “//I am female too//”

Leave a Reply

