//First you gotta light a fire//

image

I’m sure you can agree with me on this – we all have things in our lives we want to change for the better. Whether it be living a healthier lifestyle, working harder at school or finishing tasks instead of just giving something up halfway through (I am totally not guilty of this…nope, not one bit) we all need to wake up and realise that we can’t make a change without lighting a fire.

By this I don’t mean literally lighting a fire, but switching on that light in the section of your mind that has been covered in cobwebs for way too long, that part of your brain that wants to make a change and has the determination to do so.

You need to light up a signal, allow yourself to be vulnerable to the risk of failure because if you don’t accept that you might fail at making a change, then you are just fooling yourself and won’t have the motivation to make the change.

Making a change in your life is a risky process but remember it’s your life, only you can change it and it’s not just going to happen by magic.

Take me for example: I’ve known for a while that I need to become more sociable and include myself in large groups more. I go to Explorer Scouts every week and although I have a friends there and get on with people, I have felt for a while that as new people join the group and older people move on, the dynamic of the group changes so quickly and I jave gradually felt myself drifting out of the social circles there.

So, today I lit my fire (quite literally, actually, we were having a BBQ at Explorer’s tonight) and decided to include myself back into the group. I started to talk to more people and try to start conversation. Ok, a lot of the time it didn’t completely go to plan but I was ok with that. Instead of feeling a bit left out, I just moved on and socailised with someone else or just enjoyed the beauty of the woods we were in (even though it was tipping it down with rain).

This is the start of me making a change and I know it’s going to be a long process but I’m ready to put all my effort into it. I have lit my fire, so now it’s time to make a change. 🙂

Author: Em is Lost

I'm a teenage blogger who loves adventure and the great outdoors. I enjoy blogging about a range of topics including scouting, politics, feminism, world affairs and the life of a teenager in general.

Leave a Reply

