//Cyclists vs dog walkers: the never ending battle//

I love cycling. I always have. It just makes me feel so relaxed and peaceful and happy to cycle along with the world flashing past me and to have like zero responsibilities. Cycling makes me feel free.

The one thing I hate about cycling though is, sadly, dog walkers. Generally, I have nothing against people who have dogs. I just can’t stand those people who think it is ok to let their dogs run wild around cyclists. I’ve had a few close shaves when it comes to cycling near dog walkers. There have been a few instances where I have been forced to swerve out of the way of an uncontrolled dog and nearly fallen of my bike or crashed into something. There was even one time a few years ago when a dog was running round my bike and I had to stop quickly but unfortuantely I caught the dogs tail under my wheel. I felt horrible afterwards but in all honesty there was nothing I could have done. And then the dogs owner who had told me to just ‘carry on cycling, my dog is well-behaved’ when I had originally slowed down to pass them proceeded to have a go at me for injuring her dog.

It’s these types of dog walkers that I can’t stand. They just seel to take no responsibilty for their dogs and expect us cyclists to slow down and be able to dodge their dogs which is extremely hard. I mean, they wouldn’t expect a car to doge out of the way if their dog ran into the road, so why do they expect cyclists to do so on a cycle path?

Seriously though there is a white line down the middle of cycle paths FOR A REASON. Pedestrians walk and one side, and cyclists cycle on the other. So why do they think they can iust let their dogs run around everywhere?

Don’t get me wrong, there are some people who do keep their dogs under control and have trained them to behave around bikes but the majority of people where I live don’t.

Every saturday/sunday, I wake up at 8 am just so I can go out as early as possible at about 9:30 am to cycle a 4 mile circuit. I try to get up early to avoid all the dog walkers but it seems whatever time of say I go, I have to pass around 30 dogs in the 45 minutes I am cycling for.

Today, for example, I had to break suddenly to avoid a dog that was running straight towards my bike and nearly crashed into my sister. Then we passed a lady with three quite large dogs who were tugging at their leads and barking constantly and terrifyingly at us as we passed only to be told by their owner who had to shout to make herself heard over the noise that ‘my dogs are scared of bikes’. I mean, don’t you train your dogs to be around bikes like you do with cars? I don’t know…

When I was really young, I had a bad experience with dogs and have had a fear of them ever since. Don’t get me wrong, if they are small and calm and well-behaved then it’s fine, I just don’t like it how dogs can be so unpredictable and jumpy.

But I’m not going to give up my weekend cycle rides. I love it too much. I will continue fighting this neverending war between cyclists and dog walkers.

Oh and before I go do some homework, me and a few others are trying to get #TeamHermem trending on Twitter (even though there is like 0.1% probability of this happening) so if you have Twitter, I’d love it if you could join in with the tweeting or just retweet my #TeamHermem tweets. You can find me @em_is_lost99. 🙂

Author: Em is Lost

I'm a teenage blogger who loves adventure and the great outdoors. I enjoy blogging about a range of topics including scouting, politics, feminism, world affairs and the life of a teenager in general.

5 thoughts on “//Cyclists vs dog walkers: the never ending battle//”

    1. Hmm, there must just be a lot of dog walkers round my area then, haha. Aw, at least you almost ran over the duck, not actually ran over it! I’m not planning on doing races but I’m hoping to do some longer rides in the summer like 20 or 30 miles. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

