//My taste in music is your face//

image
So, if you’re a fan of twenty one pilots (which if you’re not you should TOTALLY go listen to them, like right now) you’ll recognise my title is a song lyric of theirs.

I may have only been listening to twenty one pilots for a couple of months, but I  totally in love with their music. Their lyrics are just so truthful and meaningful. They do rap a bit in their songs and before I listened to their music I hated rap, but I now have a new appreciation for it, which I suppose can only be a good thing.

Aside from twenty one pilots, there are PLENTY of other bands I like.

Here is a handy list in case you were wondering:
– Circa Waves
image
– Walk the Moon
image
– B∆STILLE (I can do the triangle   A thingys!!)
image
– Milky Chance
milky-chance-530205dad2d35
– Kaiser Chiefs
image
– Vance Joy
image
– The Kooks
71g63zdesll-_sl1280_
– The 1975
image
– James Bay
image

See? There are A LOT.

I can’t really define my taste in music as ONE specific genre. I mean, it would probably end up being called ‘alternative-indie-folk-pop-electronica-rock’.

The one thing I can say about my music taste though, is that I feel really passionately about the bands and artists I like and absolutely love listening to every single one of them.

I also love discovering new music so if anyone has any artists they recommend me listening to, be sure to let me know!

You might be wondering what the point to this post was. Well, I’m getting to that.

Yesterday was a big day for two of my favourite bands – the 1975 and Walk the Moon. They both released new albums:
I like it when you sleep, for you are so beautiful yet so unaware of it, The 1975
You Are Not Alone: live at The Greek, Walk the Moon.

I got so emotional yesterday because I just love their music so much and it makes me so proud when they release new material. I was also really sad at the use time though because last week Walk the Moon played a concert near me and next week twenty one pilots are playing near me but I was unable to get tickets for either.:'(:'(

It didn’t really help the fact that Walk the Moon’s new album is a LIVE album so when I was streaming it on Spotify yesterday all I could think of was what it would have been like if I had got tickets for their concert.

However as some of you may know, I did go to see The 1975 back in November which was absolutely incredible so I have ticked off one if my ‘bands to see in concert’ but I would definitely see them again.

I posted a video of the concert on YouTube here: https://youtu.be/X3mwzMhjHK0

and it made me SO emotional watching through all the clips when I made it, so please take a look!

Here are some pictures I took there too:


It was one of the best nights of my life and I really want to thank one of my best friends who let me go with her as she got tickets for her birthday, it means a lot and I love her so much.

Sticking on the theme of The 1975, here’s a bit of artwork inspired by their song ‘The City’ that I made as a present for said friends birthday.

20150929_163938.jpg

I really didn’t want to give it away because I loved making it soooooo much.

I have done some other artwork inspired by other bands and artists I like too so here’s a gallery of all of them plus all of their albums (including my signed Dream Your Life Away album by Vance Joy):

There are still so many albums I need to get round to buying though for example:
Talking Is Hard– Walk the Moon.
Employment– Kaiser Cheifs.
The 1975– The 1975.
Listen– The Kooks.
You Are Not Alone– Walk the Moon.
Young Chasers– Circa Waves .
Blurryface– twenty one pilots.

So, that’s my taste in music, what’s yours?

Author: Em is Lost

I'm a teenage blogger who loves adventure and the great outdoors. I enjoy blogging about a range of topics including scouting, politics, feminism, world affairs and the life of a teenager in general.

21 thoughts on “//My taste in music is your face//”

  1. I LOVE TWENTY ONE PILOTS. OMG I would love to go to their concert. Sadly no good artists ever play near to where I love. I couldn’t define my taste of music too. I listen to a lot. Sometimes I listen to a song because I love the beats and sometimes because I love the lyrics. I like to really think about the message of songs. They can be so meaningful like the once from twenty one pilots. Sometimes it makes me sad when no one seems to notice it

    Liked by 2 people

    1. YESSSS!!! They are a amazing, right? #skeletonclique4lyf 😂:D;) Usually no good artists come near me then TWO COME IN ONE WEEK and I couldn’t get tickets. 😥 I love thinking about the message behind songs too hence why I like TØP. I hate it when people don’t appreciate the song lyrics though and the meanings behind it, that’s the whole purpose of music in my opinion.:)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love TOP! And I’ve just recently started getting into 1975 and Walk the Moon, who are also amazing 🙂 I need to go and listen to the others on your list, because you obviously have great taste! And your artwork is AMAZING! Seriously, so freaking good 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OMG YASSSS! You totally need to listen to the rest too then! It’s so great to find people who like the same stuff as me, I have a really different music taste to my friends irl. And thank you, I really want to do more artwork now,music is so inspiring. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I LOVE YOUR MUSIC TASTE!!!!! I love twenty one pilots, I’ve been listening to them for quite some time and then loads of people started listening to them and I’m YES now everybody knows what I’ve been talking about. I’m so proud that stressed out is in the UK charts. I love Circa Waves and the 1975, don’t get me started, they are just so good. The kaiser Chiefs are like a classic 00s band and Walk the Moon are really good to. I don’t listen to the Kinks much or Vance Joy but they are both great. I need to listen to Milky Chance (I’ve heard the name but not their music) and Bastille are so good too. Sorry for such the long paragraph but I’ve been waiting for someone to do a blog post like this. Fangirling hard rn. – Jess x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OMG THAT’S AWESOME WE HAVE SUCH A SIMILAR MUSIC TASTE!!! The 1975 are so amazing, my best friend had been going on about them for YEARS but I only started to appreciate them after seeing them live. I recommend Milky Chance, they are different to tge other bands I like but still awesome (plus they are German and I love Germany). Don’t appologise, fangirling is fiiiiiine, my whole post was basically me fangirling! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Your music taste is greaaat😩 I love the 1975, oh Matt😍😍 I really want to see them live, my friend went to their concert last year and she said it was one of the best nights of her life. You definitely need to get the ‘The 1975’ album it’s so good. What’s your favourite song by them? I love James Bay’s music too, I’ve already heard a couple of songs by Milky Chance and twenty one pilots and I liked them so I’ll definitely check out their albums and the other bands you mentioned, thanks for the post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Matty is even better in real life 😍😍, you HAVE to go and see them live sometime. Hmmm my favourite song is probably Heart Out or Girls, they have so many great songs though it’s hard to choose! And you welcome, I loved writing it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. OMG I hated rap too before listening to twenty one pilots, mostly because all the rap songs I listened to were just a bunch of meaningless words organized in a crappy way because the writer was desprately trying to rhyme. then I listened to twenty one pilots and OH GOD the words hit me straight in the feels. they have the most meaningful and relatable songs ever!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

